Tribunal Members

Carmel Donnelly PSM — Chair

BA(Hons), MBA(Exec), MPH, GAICD

Carmel is an experienced chief executive, board member and regulator with over 35 years of public sector experience. She was the Chief Executive of the State Insurance Regulatory Authority (SIRA) and has also held executive roles in emergency services and insurance regulation. Carmel’s career has been focused on improving financial, economic, health and social outcomes for both individuals and the broader NSW community.  

In January 2022, Carmel was awarded the Public Service Medal for outstanding public service to regulatory reforms in NSW.

Carmel commenced as Chair of the Tribunal on 1 July 2021 and has been appointed for a term of 5 years to 30 June 2026.

Deborah Cope

B Econ(Hons)

Deborah brings to the Tribunal more than 35 years experience in Australian public policy and management. She was a Commissioner with the Victorian Competition and Efficiency Commission until 2015 and has operated a consulting business for 20 years.

Deborah was initially appointed to the Tribunal for a term of 6 months. This was extended for a term of four and a half years to 2 February 2022 and has since been extended for a further term of three years to 2 February 2025.


Sandra Gamble

BE (Hons), MBA

Sandra has many years’ experience in regulatory economics, with a particular focus on water, energy and transport infrastructure and regulation. She has extensive experience sitting on boards and decision making bodies, currently holding a position as a Board Member on the New Zealand Electricity Authority.

Sandra was appointed for a term of five years to 8 December 2024.

Mike Smart - Deputy

BA Magna Cum Laude in Astrophysics from Harvard

Mike has been the Chief Economist at IPART since May 2015 and was appointed a Deputy Tribunal member in February 2020. Prior to these IPART roles, he was a consulting economist in private practice for 15 years.

Mike has given expert evidence in the Federal Court of Australia and the Australian Competition Tribunal. He advised the Public Accounts Committee of the NSW Parliament on inquiries into the Forestry Commission and financing urban infrastructure.  His academic training is in astrophysics and his early career work was in engineering and physical sciences.

Executive Team

Liz Livingstone

Chief Executive Officer
Michelle Coco

Michelle Coco

Executive Director Regulation & Compliance

Fiona Towers

Executive Director Pricing & Policy

Ben Strate

General Counsel & Chief Audit Executive

Michelle McIlvenny

Director Corporate Services