The Tribunal & Executive team

A government-appointed Tribunal of three permanent members, and occasionally temporary members, leads IPART. It is advised by a Secretariat of highly experienced economists, financial analysts, lawyers, engineers and other professionals.
Starts Side Navigation Ends Secondary Navigation

Tribunal Members

Dr Peter J Boxall AO
B Econ(Hons), M Econ, PhD
Chair from 23 November 2011.

Dr Boxall was previously a Commissioner at ASIC for three years, Former Secretary of the Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism in 2008, following six years as Secretary of the Department of Employment and Workplace Relations and five years as Secretary of Finance and Administration with the Australian Government.

He was initially appointed for a term of five years, which was extended for a further three years until 22 November 2019.

Mr Ed Willett
BEC, LLB, Dip. Int. Law
Tribunal Member from 8 December 2014.

Mr Willett has over 25 years experience in competition policy and economic regulation, with a particular focus on the economic regulation of utility services. He was a commissioner with the ACCC until 2013 and was appointed an inaugural member of the Australian Energy Regulator in 2005.

He was appointed for a term of five years to 7 December 2019.

Ms Deborah Cope
B Econ(Hons)
Tribunal Member from 3 February 2017.

Ms Cope brings to the Tribunal more than 30 years experience in Australian public policy and management. She was a Commissioner with the Victorian Competition and Efficiency Commission until 2015 and has operated a consulting business for 15 years.

Deborah was initially appointed to the Tribunal for a term of 6 months. This was extended for a further four and a half years to 2 February 2022.

Executive Team

Photo of Hugo Harmstorf

Hugo Harmstorf

Chief Executive Officer
Photo of Fiona Towers

Fiona Towers

Chief Audit Executive & Executive Director Energy and Transport
Photo of Pamela Soon

Pamela Soon

Executive Director Regulation and Compliance
Photo of Matthew Edgerton

Matthew Edgerton

Executive Director Water and Local Government
Photo of Anna Brakey

Anna Brakey

Chief Operating Officer & Executive Director Strategy and Economic Analysis
Photo of Ben Strate

Ben Strate

General Counsel
Photo of Philippa Fague

Philippa Fague

General Manager Energy Savings Scheme
Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions