Local Government
Fit for the future

Review of Local Council Fit For The Future proposals

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Apr 2015
Media Release
Oct 2015

Reports, Decisions & Papers

Date Document type Description Documents
28 Oct 2015 Media Release Media Release
Updates have been published to five of the 139 Fit for the Future proposal assessments on the IPART website. No changes have been made to the Fit for the Future outcomes.
PDF 55.63KB
28 Oct 2015 Other Report Erratum for Final Report
An Erratum for Fit for the Future report and assessments.
PDF 14.81KB
20 Oct 2015 Media Release Media Release for Final Report
The NSW Government has today released IPART’s assessments of local government Fit for the Future proposals.
IPART Chairman Dr Peter Boxall said 52 of the 139 proposals (received from 144 councils) were found to be ‘fit’ under the Fit for the Future criteria established by the Government last
year. These included four merger proposals (covering nine councils) and 48 proposals from councils proposing to stand alone.
PDF 441.26KB
20 Oct 2015 Final Report Final Report
The NSW Government has asked IPART to undertake the role of the Expert Advisory Panel in assessing local government Fit for the Future (FFTF) proposals. The FFTF reforms aim to improve the strength and effectiveness of local government in providing services and infrastructure that communities need.

This report sets out our assessment of whether local councils are fit or not fit for the future based on the proposals submitted. In undertaking the assessments we have used the Independent Local Government Review Panel’s (ILGRP’s) options for reform as a starting point for our analysis.
PDF 7.16MB
20 Oct 2015 Final Report Final Report excluding Council Assessments
The NSW Government has asked IPART to undertake the role of the Expert Advisory Panel in assessing local government Fit for the Future (FFTF) proposals. The FFTF reforms aim to improve the strength and effectiveness of local government in providing services and infrastructure that communities need.

This report sets out our assessment of whether local councils are fit or not fit for the future based on the proposals submitted. In undertaking the assessments we have used the Independent Local Government Review Panel’s (ILGRP’s) options for reform as a starting point for our analysis.

Appendix C which includes the individual assessments of Council Fit for the Future proposals is available as a separate download link.
PDF 2.32MB
20 Oct 2015 Final Report Final Report Council Assessments - Appendix C
The NSW Government has asked IPART to undertake the role of the Expert Advisory Panel in assessing local government Fit for the Future (FFTF) proposals. The FFTF reforms aim to improve the strength and effectiveness of local government in providing services and infrastructure that communities need.

Our report sets out our assessment of whether local councils are fit or not fit for the future based on the proposals submitted. In undertaking the assessments we have used the Independent Local Government Review Panel’s (ILGRP’s) options for reform as a starting point for our analysis.

This Attachment to our Final Report (Appendix C) includes the individual assessments of Council Fit for the Future proposals.
PDF 3.62MB
16 Oct 2015 Media Release Media Release - Fit for the Future assessments Complete
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) has today handed its assessment of council proposals under the Fit for the Future reforms to the NSW Government.

Each of the 139 proposals (received from 144 councils) has been assessed as either ‘fit’ or ‘not fit’ against the Fit for the Future criteria established by the Government last year. The
eight Far West councils were not required to submit proposals.
PDF 109.1KB
4 Aug 2015 Media Release Media Release - Fit for the Future public submissions consideration
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) has begun consideration of the public submissions received during July as part of its assessment of council proposals under the NSW Fit for the Future reforms.
PDF 63.9KB
1 Jul 2015 Media Release Media Release - All requested NSW Councils lodge Fit for the Future proposals
All the state’s councils requested to submit proposals with the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) for assessment under the NSW Government’s Fit for the Future reforms have done so.
The process requires councils across NSW to demonstrate how they can become stronger and more effective, delivering services to the community in the most sustainable and efficient way into the future.
IPART has received proposals from 144 councils. The eight Far West councils were not required to submit proposals.
PDF 39.26KB
1 Jul 2015 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet - Fit for the Future
IPART has been appointed by the NSW Government to assess if local councils are Fit for the Future. All 144 councils requested to submit Fit for the Future proposals with IPART have done so, and we will now begin the assessment process.
PDF 64.89KB
30 Jun 2015 Local Council Fit For The Future proposals received
External Link 
5 Jun 2015 Assessment Methodology Assessment methodology for council proposals
The NSW Government has asked IPART to perform the role of the Expert Advisory Panel to assess how council proposals meet the Fit for the Future criteria. Councils are to prepare proposals as to how they will meet the criteria for submission to us by 30 June 2015. Our role is to consider proposals independently and ensure a consistent, fair and impartial assessment. The Assessment Methodology explains how we will undertake assessment of councils’ Fit for the Future proposals, which takes into account stakeholder views from our public forums and submission process.
PDF 2.1MB
5 Jun 2015 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet - Fit for the Future
This fact sheet explains what we have been asked to do, how you can participate and provide input to our assessments and how we will undertake assessment of councils’ Fit for the Future proposals.
PDF 275.03KB
5 Jun 2015 Media Release Media Release - Fit for the Future assessment methodology released
IPART has released its Assessment Methodology for councils’ Fit for the Future proposals.
PDF 153.79KB
28 May 2015 Transcript Sydney Public Forum Webcast Question & Answer Session
PDF 72.07KB
26 May 2015 Transcript Transcript - Wagga Wagga Public Forum - 21 May 2015
PDF 135.9KB
21 May 2015 Transcript Transcript - Coffs Harbour Public Forum - 18 May 2015
PDF 194.11KB
21 May 2015 Transcript Transcript - Dubbo Public Forum - 15 May 2015
PDF 198.37KB
21 May 2015 Agenda Wagga Wagga Public Forum Agenda
Commercial Club Wagga, 77 Gurwood Street, Wagga Wagga NSW 2650
PDF 31.58KB
18 May 2015 Agenda Coffs Harbour Public Forum Agenda
Novotel Pacific Bay Resort , Corner Pacific Highway and Bay Drive , Coffs Harbour NSW 2450
PDF 32.6KB
15 May 2015 Media Release Media Release
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) will take account of the views of local councils and their communities in determining how council proposals under the NSW Government’s Fit for the Future reforms will be assessed.
PDF 63.62KB
15 May 2015 Hearing Presentation Dubbo, Coffs Harbour and Wagga Presentation
Public Forum Presentation - Methodology for Assessment of Council Fit for the Future Proposals
PDF 408.48KB
15 May 2015 Agenda Dubbo Public Forum Agenda
Dubbo RSL Club Events Centre, 178 Brisbane Street, Dubbo NSW 2830
PDF 32.38KB
15 May 2015 Transcript Webcast Transcript - Sydney Public Forum - 11 May 2015
PDF 501.63KB
11 May 2015 Hearing Presentation Sydney Public Forum - Presentation
Public Forum Presentation - Methodology for Assessment of Council Fit for the Future Proposals
PDF 91.52KB
11 May 2015 Agenda Sydney Public Forum Agenda
SMC Conference & Function Centre,
66 Goulburn Street,
Sydney NSW 2000
PDF 31.51KB
11 May 2015 Sydney Public Forum - View Webcast
External Link 
27 Apr 2015 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet
This fact sheet provides information about how we propose to assess Fit for the Future council proposals, including what we have been asked to do by the NSW Government, our process and timetable. It also outlines how stakeholders can participate and provide input to our assessments.
PDF 99.55KB
27 Apr 2015 Media Release Media Release
IPART is seeking submissions on its proposed approach on how council Fit for the Future proposals will be assessed.
PDF 50.06KB
27 Apr 2015 Consultation Paper Consultation Paper - Methodology for assessment of Council Proposals
The NSW Government has asked IPART to perform the role of the Expert Advisory Panel to assess how council proposals meet the Fit for the Future criteria. Councils are to prepare proposals as to how they will meet the criteria for submission to us by 30 June 2015. Our role is to consider proposals independently and ensure a consistent, fair and impartial assessment. The Consultation Paper explains our proposed methodology to assess the proposals. We invite written comment on this document and encourage all interested parties to provide submissions addressing the matters discussed. Submissions are due by Monday, 25 May 2015. To discuss the proposed methodology we will also hold four public forums around NSW in mid-May and we encourage stakeholders to attend one or more of these sessions. We aim to publish our final report on the assessment methodology in the week commencing 1 June 2015. Our final report containing our assessment findings is due to the Minister on 16 October 2015.
Submissions to this report (177)
PDF 1.9MB
22 Apr 2015 Terms of Reference Terms of Reference
Terms of Reference - Fit for the Future Expert Advisory Panel
PDF 1.12MB
Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions