Local Government
Local Government Rating System

Local Government Rating System

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Dec 2015
Final Report to Minister
Dec 2016
Date Document type Description Documents
7 Oct 2016 Media Release Media Release on Public Hearing - Dubbo
IPART will be in Dubbo on Monday, 10 October to seek feedback on proposed changes to the way local rates are levied.
PDF 32.94KB
22 Aug 2016 Draft Report Draft Report
IPART is undertaking a review at the request of the NSW Government on the local government rating system. The purpose of our review is to develop recommendations to improve the equity and efficiency of the rating system, in order to enhance councils’ ability to implement sustainable fiscal policies over the long term. In conducting the review, we have consulted stakeholders, analysed the current rating system, and assessed its performance against the key taxation principles of efficiency, equity, simplicity, sustainability and competitive neutrality. We have also compared the NSW rating system to best-practice policies in other jurisdictions. We have developed our draft recommendations and we are seeking comments from all interested parties.
Submissions to this report (175)
PDF 1.54MB
22 Aug 2016 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet - Draft Report
This Fact Sheet outlines some key details on IPART’s Draft Report on our Review of the rating system for local government in NSW. Submissions on the draft report and the review are open until 14 October 2016. Public forums will be held in Sydney on 19 September and in Dubbo on 10 October 2016.
PDF 100.99KB
22 Aug 2016 Media Release Media Release - Draft Report
IPART is seeking feedback on draft recommendations for potential changes to the local government rating system which aim to provide councils with more options to levy rates, whilst ensuring NSW ratepayers would be protected against excessive rate increases. Submissions on the draft recommendations are being sought until 14 October 2016. Public hearings are scheduled for Sydney on 19 September and Dubbo on 10 October 2016. Final recommendations will be provided to the NSW Government in December 2016.
PDF 59.54KB
9 Jun 2016 Other Report Interim Report sent to Minister
This report outlines IPART’s proposed approach to implementing the NSW Government’s rate path freeze policy for new councils that was provided to the Minister for Local Government on June 9 2016.
PDF 1.03MB
13 Apr 2016 Issues Paper Issues Paper
IPART is conducting a review of the local government rating system in NSW. Our aim is to recommend reforms to improve its efficiency and equity to ensure councils can implement sustainable fiscal policies over the longer term.
This Issues Paper outlines how we propose to approach this review, explains how stakeholders can provide input, and discusses the issues on which we particularly seek comment.
Submissions to this Issues Paper close on 13 May 2016. A public hearing on the Issues Paper will be held in Sydney on 26 April and there will be a webcast of the event.
Submissions to this report (150)
PDF 1.01MB
13 Apr 2016 Media Release Issues Paper Media Release
This Media Release relates to the release of our Issues Paper on IPART’s review of the NSW local government rating system.
The Issues Paper seeks feedback from councils, the community, business, government and charitable institutions on the rating system, and a range of possible changes to the way rates are levied across and within different communities.
Submissions to the Issues Paper close on 13 May 2016. A public hearing on the Issues Paper will be held in Sydney on 26 April and there will be a webcast of the event.
PDF 37.86KB
13 Apr 2016 Fact Sheet Issues Paper Fact Sheet
This Fact Sheet outlines some key details on an Issues Paper IPART has released as part of its review of the rating system for local government in NSW.
We seek feedback from councils, ratepayers and the community, NSW government agencies, and other stakeholders on a number of questions raised in the Issues Paper, and any other issues stakeholders think are relevant.
Submissions to the Issues Paper close on 13 May 2016. A public hearing on the Issues Paper will be held in Sydney on 26 April and there will be a webcast of the event.
PDF 188.2KB
22 Dec 2015 Terms of Reference Terms of Reference
December 2015
PDF 1.38MB

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions