Local Government
Local Government Rating System

Local Government Rating System

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Dec 2015
Final Report to Minister
Dec 2016

Consultation

Date Document type Description Documents
10 Oct 2016 Agenda Dubbo Public Hearing Agenda
Dubbo RSL Club Event Centre , Corner Brisbane Street & Wingewarra Street, Dubbo NSW 2830
PDF 49.04KB
10 Oct 2016 Transcript Public Hearing Transcript - Dubbo
PDF 225.25KB
7 Oct 2016 Hearing Presentation Dubbo Public Hearing Presentation - Valuation Method
Presentation - Dubbo Public Hearing - Valuation method - 10 October 2016
PDF 29.85KB
7 Oct 2016 Hearing Presentation Dubbo Public Hearing Presentation - Growth outside the peg
Presentation - Dubbo Public Hearing - growth outside the peg - 10 October 2016
PDF 103.46KB
7 Oct 2016 Hearing Presentation Dubbo Public Hearing Presentation - Exemptions concessions
Presentation - Dubbo Public Hearing - exemptions concessions - 10 October 2016
PDF 36.23KB
19 Sep 2016 Hearing Presentation Sydney Public Hearing Presentation - Valuation method
Presentation - Rating System Review Public Hearing - September 2016 - Method for Setting Rates
PDF 27.79KB
19 Sep 2016 Hearing Presentation Sydney Public Hearing Presentation - Growth outside the peg
Presentation - Rating System Review Public Hearing - September 2016 - Exemptions and Concessions
PDF 95.94KB
19 Sep 2016 Hearing Presentation Sydney Public Hearing Presentation - Exemptions and concessions
Presentation on rate path freeze from Public Hearing on the Rating System Review, 19 September 2016
PDF 28.79KB
19 Sep 2016 View Public Hearing Webcast
External Link 
19 Sep 2016 Agenda Agenda - Sydney Public Hearing
SMC Conference & Function Centre
66 Goulburn Street
Sydney NSW 2000
PDF 48.16KB
19 Sep 2016 Transcript Public Hearing Transcript - Sydney
PDF 350.43KB
22 Aug 2016 Draft Report Draft Report
IPART is undertaking a review at the request of the NSW Government on the local government rating system. The purpose of our review is to develop recommendations to improve the equity and efficiency of the rating system, in order to enhance councils’ ability to implement sustainable fiscal policies over the long term. In conducting the review, we have consulted stakeholders, analysed the current rating system, and assessed its performance against the key taxation principles of efficiency, equity, simplicity, sustainability and competitive neutrality. We have also compared the NSW rating system to best-practice policies in other jurisdictions. We have developed our draft recommendations and we are seeking comments from all interested parties.
175
Submissions
26 Apr 2016 Transcript Public Hearing Transcript
PDF 272.76KB
26 Apr 2016 Hearing Presentation Sydney Public Hearing Presentation - Method for setting rates
Presentation on method for setting rates at Rating System Review Public Hearing 19 September 2016
PDF 47.88KB
26 Apr 2016 Hearing Presentation Sydney Public Hearing Presentation - Exemptions and consessions
Presentation on exemptions and concessions at Rating System Review Public Hearing 26 April 2016
PDF 34.12KB
26 Apr 2016 Hearing Presentation Sydney Public Hearing Presentation - Rate path freeze
Presentation on the rate path freeze from April 26 Rating System Review Public Hearing
PDF 49.96KB
26 Apr 2016 Agenda Agenda - Sydney Public Hearing
SMC Conference & Function Centre, 66 Goulburn Street, Sydney NSW 2000
PDF 61.03KB
26 Apr 2016 View Public Hearing Webcast
External Link 
13 Apr 2016 Issues Paper Issues Paper
IPART is conducting a review of the local government rating system in NSW. Our aim is to recommend reforms to improve its efficiency and equity to ensure councils can implement sustainable fiscal policies over the longer term.
This Issues Paper outlines how we propose to approach this review, explains how stakeholders can provide input, and discusses the issues on which we particularly seek comment.
Submissions to this Issues Paper close on 13 May 2016. A public hearing on the Issues Paper will be held in Sydney on 26 April and there will be a webcast of the event.
150
Submissions

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions