Local Government
Local Government Regulatory burdens

Review of reporting and compliance burdens on Local Government

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Apr 2015
End Date
Apr 2016
Date Document type Description Documents
21 Jun 2019 Final Report Final Report
The Premier asked IPART to conduct a review to identify inefficient, unnecessary or excessive burdens placed on local government by the NSW Government in the form of planning, reporting and compliance obligations, and to make recommendations for how these burdens can be reduced. While we have identified improvements across a range of obligations, our recommendations to address issues in the areas of planning, administration and governance, as well as some systemic issues, would bring the greatest improvements in the efficiency of councils.
PDF 1.84MB
21 Jun 2019 Consultant Report Consultant Report
This report contains a cost benefit analysis of the recommendations contained in IPART’s Final Report conducted by the Centre for International Economics (CIE).
PDF 710.85KB
18 Jan 2016 Draft Report Draft Report
This Draft Report makes 49 draft recommendations aimed at addressing inefficient, unnecessary or excessive burdens placed on councils by the NSW Government in relation to reporting, planning or compliance.

We invite submissions on these draft recommendations and any other issues discussed in our draft report, including in the appendices, by 19 February 2016.

We will hold a public hearing on 8 February 2016 at Sydney Masonic Centre, 66 Goulburn St, Sydney.
Submissions to this report (91)
PDF 1.66MB
18 Jan 2016 Media Release Media Release - Draft Report
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is seeking feedback on 49 draft recommendations to reduce the regulatory burdens that the NSW Government imposes on local government.
PDF 39.18KB
18 Jan 2016 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet - Draft Report
This Fact Sheet provides information about our review of reporting and compliance burdens on local government and the release of the Draft Report, including what we have been asked to do and the review process. It also outlines how stakeholders can participate and provide input to our review.
PDF 59.83KB
13 Jul 2015 Issues Paper Issues Paper
As part of this review we are seeking to identify inefficient, unnecessary or excessive planning, reporting and compliance obligations imposed on councils by the NSW Government; and to develop options to reduce or streamline these burdens. This Issues Paper provides further information about the review and the issues on which we are seeking submissions from interested stakeholders.
Submissions to this report (43)
PDF 934.31KB
13 Jul 2015 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet - Issues Paper
This fact sheet provides information about our review of reporting and compliance burdens on Local Government, including what we have been asked to do and our review process and timetable. It also outlines how stakeholders can participate and provide input to our review.
PDF 221.61KB
13 Jul 2015 Media Release Media Release - Issues Paper
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is calling for public submissions for its review into reporting and compliance burdens that the NSW Government imposes on local government.
PDF 57.98KB
22 Apr 2015 Terms of Reference Terms of Reference
The Premier has asked IPART to conduct a review to identify burdens placed on Local Government in the form of planning, reporting and compliance obligations by the NSW Government, and to make recommendations for how identified unnecessary or excessive burdens can be reduced. The aim of the review is to improve the efficiency of local government in NSW and enhance the ability of councils to focus on delivering services to their communities.
PDF 417.48KB

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions