Transport
Public Transport Fares

External Benefits for Public Transport

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Aug 2014
End Date
Sep 2015
Date Document type Description Documents
Jun 2015 Notice Public Hearing - Change of timing
IPART’s draft report on the external benefits of public transport indicated that IPART would hold a public forum in April. This public forum was designed to provide an opportunity for stakeholders to discuss their views on the proposed external benefits methodology and draft findings. Having reviewed the submission comments we received, we now consider that it would be more useful for everyone if we postponed that discussion until after we release an issues paper on the approach we should take for regulating fares for buses, trains and ferries in Sydney and surrounds.

Under section 123 of the Passenger Transport Act 2014, the Minister makes referrals to IPART to determine or recommend maximum fares for public transport services. We expect to receive a referral within the next month and to release an issues paper on how we will regulate these fares towards the end of May. After we release the issues paper we will hold an expanded public forum that will allow stakeholders to discuss our proposed approach to external benefits, as well as the issues raised in the fares issues paper and how the two processes come together.

More details regarding the date and time of the public forum will be posted on our website once they become available.
PDF 116.69KB
9 Feb 2015 Fact Sheet Guide to Externality Model
Fact Sheet - Guide to the Transport Externality Model - 6 February 2015
PDF 180.12KB
9 Feb 2015 Spreadsheet Model Transport Externality Model
IPART has completed a major review of public transport fares in Sydney and surrounding areas. Our report and determination set out the maximum increase across all rail, bus, ferry and light rail fares in Sydney and surrounds for the period 1 July 2016 to 30 June 2019.

As part of this review we undertook a review of the external benefits when people use public transport, to determine how future fares should be set. This work was incorporated into our review of public transport fares. For further information see Public Transport Fares
XLSX 265.46KB
16 Dec 2014 Media Release Media Release
Review of external benefits of public transport - 16 December 2014
HTML of Media Release
16 Dec 2014 Draft Report Draft Report
Review of external benefits of public transport - December 2014
Submissions to this report (8)
PDF 837.37KB
16 Dec 2014 Consultant Report Consultant Report
Final Report - ARUP - Cost of Emissions for NSW Ferry Networks - November 2014
PDF 593.65KB
16 Dec 2014 Consultant Report Consultant Report
Final Report - ARUP - Cost of Emissions for Light Rail - November 2014
PDF 514.02KB
26 Aug 2014 Media Release Media Release
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is undertaking a review of the benefits to the wider community when people use public transport, to determine how future fares should be set.
HTML of Media Release
26 Aug 2014 Issues Paper Issues Paper
Issues Paper - Estimating the external benefits of public transport - Used in setting maximum fares for rail, bus and ferry services
Submissions to this report (13)
PDF 540.12KB

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions