Transport
Public Transport Fares

Opal fares from 1 July 2020

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Jul 2018
End Date
Feb 2020
Date Document type Description Documents
11 Feb 2020 Notice Public hearing summary
Summary of public hearing 11 February 2020
PDF 3.33MB
15 Jan 2020 Media Release Media Release - Community views sought
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is seeking community views about future Opal fares for public transport in Sydney, the Blue Mountains, Central Coast, the Hunter and the Illawarra.
HTML of Media Release - Community views sought
10 Dec 2019 Information papers
View Information papers
10 Dec 2019 Draft Report Draft Report
The draft report sets out our draft decisions and recommendations for our review of maximum Opal fares for 2020-2024. We considered all of the submissions provided by stakeholders in response to our Issues Paper and conducted our own analysis in coming to our draft decisions and recommendations.
Submissions to this report (31)
PDF 1.9MB
10 Dec 2019 Media Release Media release - Draft report
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is seeking comments on its draft report and draft determination on maximum Opal fares for 2020-2024.
PDF 250.26KB
10 Dec 2019 Draft Determination Draft determination
The draft determination is the legal instrument for our draft Opal fares pricing decisions for 2020-2024.
PDF 625.18KB
10 Dec 2019 Information Paper Information paper - Technology and ticketing
Ticketing technology is evolving and the NSW Government recently introduced a new account based ticketing product for public transport called Opal Connect. We are recommending a number of fare changes that could be implemented more easily under this account based ticketing system.
PDF 714.3KB
10 Dec 2019 Information Paper Information paper - Services and use
We explore how demand for public transport has changed in recent years and how this demand has been accommodated. We also report on the impact that the change in demand has had on service levels and customer satisfaction.
PDF 1.26MB
10 Dec 2019 Information Paper Information paper - Investigating fare-free public transport
In some parts of the world public transport is free to use and is fully funded by the community through taxation revenue. We investigate the potential outcomes if public transport fares were free in Sydney.
PDF 604.83KB
10 Dec 2019 Information Paper Information paper - Ensuring affordability
One of our objectives for the review is to ensure that public transport fares are affordable. We make a number of recommendations to the NSW Government to improve the affordability of public transport fares.
PDF 544.36KB
10 Dec 2019 Information Paper Information paper - On-demand bus fares
On-demand buses are a new initiative for the NSW Government and allow passengers to book transport by bus from their home or a nearby collection point to a local transport hub or community centre. IPART has been asked to determine maximum fares and recommend appropriate pricing arrangements for on-demand transport services across NSW.
PDF 357.27KB
10 Dec 2019 Technical Paper Technical paper - Patronage and elasticity estimates
We have considered both the underlying growth in demand for public transport services and the response to changes in the price of public transport in our modelling of public transport fares.
PDF 910.55KB
10 Dec 2019 Technical Paper Technical paper - External benefits and costs
When people use public transport, they generate benefits for and impose costs on others. The main external benefit of a person taking public transport instead of driving is the avoided cost of congestion on roads. In our modelling of public transport fares, we have considered these external benefits and costs.
PDF 859.95KB
10 Dec 2019 Technical Paper Technical paper - Productivity
Public transport is provide more efficiently when the NSW Government either spends less for a given set of services or provides more public transport services for a given cost. As part of our fare review, we are required to consider the cost of providing public transport and the need for greater efficiency to reduce those costs.
PDF 704.03KB
30 Apr 2019 Information Paper Overview - Issues Paper
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is calling for community input into how public transport fares should be set until 2024.
IPART is reviewing maximum fares across all rail, bus, ferry and light rail services on which the Opal card can be used in Sydney, Newcastle, the Central Coast, Wollongong, the Blue Mountains and the Hunter.
PDF 1.46MB
30 Apr 2019 Issues Paper Issues Paper
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is calling for community input into how public transport fares should be set until 2024.
IPART is reviewing maximum fares across all rail, bus, ferry and light rail services on which the Opal card can be used in Sydney, Newcastle, the Central Coast, Wollongong, the Blue Mountains and the Hunter.
Submissions to this report (42)
PDF 3.23MB
30 Apr 2019 Media Release Media Release - Issues Paper
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is calling for community input into how public transport fares should be set until 2024.
HTML of Media Release - Issues Paper
30 Apr 2019 Consultant Report Consultant Report - Elasticity Report
A report commissioned by IPART on responsiveness of public transport use to changes in public transport fares. CEPA used historical Opal data to estimate the likely change in public transport journeys in response to a change in fares for different user groups, trip distances, times of the day, days of the week and for different modes of transport.
PDF 1.41MB
9 Jul 2018 Referral Referral
IPART has received a referral to determine appropriate maximum fares for Opal public transport services until 30 June 2024.
PDF 513.03KB

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions