Transport
Public Transport Fares

Opal fares from 1 July 2020

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Jul 2018
End Date
Jul 2020
Date Document type Description Documents
19 Jun 2020 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet - Opal fare changes
Transport for NSW changes to fares for Opal services.
PDF 59.44KB
19 Jun 2020 Media Release Media Release
In February this year, IPART finished its review of Opal fares for public transport. The NSW Government has now released its decision on our recommendations.
HTML of Media Release
19 Jun 2020 Determination Final Determination
Determination applies only to Opal Services paid for through regulated fares.
PDF 595.16KB
19 Jun 2020 Final Report Final Report
Maximum Opal Fares 2020 - 2024 - February 2020
PDF 1.49MB
19 Jun 2020 Spreadsheet Model Opal fares - Data Sources
Opal fares 2020-2024 - Data sources - February 2020
XLSX 2.48MB
19 Jun 2020 Technical Papers - Final Report
View Technical Papers - Final Report
19 Jun 2020 Information Papers - Final Report
View Information Papers - Final Report
19 Jun 2020 Consultant Report Consultant Report
Consultant Report - CIE - Measuring cost recovery of NSW public transport services - February 2020
PDF 337.01KB
11 Feb 2020 Notice Public hearing summary
Summary of public hearing 11 February 2020
PDF 3.33MB
15 Jan 2020 Media Release Media Release - Community views sought
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is seeking community views about future Opal fares for public transport in Sydney, the Blue Mountains, Central Coast, the Hunter and the Illawarra.
HTML of Media Release - Community views sought
10 Dec 2019 Technical papers - Draft Report
View Technical papers - Draft Report
10 Dec 2019 Information papers - Draft Report
View Information papers - Draft Report
10 Dec 2019 Draft Report Draft Report
The draft report sets out our draft decisions and recommendations for our review of maximum Opal fares for 2020-2024. We considered all of the submissions provided by stakeholders in response to our Issues Paper and conducted our own analysis in coming to our draft decisions and recommendations.
Submissions to this report (31)
PDF 1.9MB
10 Dec 2019 Media Release Media release - Draft report
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is seeking comments on its draft report and draft determination on maximum Opal fares for 2020-2024.
PDF 250.26KB
10 Dec 2019 Draft Determination Draft determination
The draft determination is the legal instrument for our draft Opal fares pricing decisions for 2020-2024.
PDF 625.18KB
30 Apr 2019 Information Paper Overview - Issues Paper
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is calling for community input into how public transport fares should be set until 2024.
IPART is reviewing maximum fares across all rail, bus, ferry and light rail services on which the Opal card can be used in Sydney, Newcastle, the Central Coast, Wollongong, the Blue Mountains and the Hunter.
PDF 1.46MB
30 Apr 2019 Issues Paper Issues Paper
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is calling for community input into how public transport fares should be set until 2024.
IPART is reviewing maximum fares across all rail, bus, ferry and light rail services on which the Opal card can be used in Sydney, Newcastle, the Central Coast, Wollongong, the Blue Mountains and the Hunter.
Submissions to this report (42)
PDF 3.23MB
30 Apr 2019 Media Release Media Release - Issues Paper
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is calling for community input into how public transport fares should be set until 2024.
HTML of Media Release - Issues Paper
30 Apr 2019 Consultant Report Consultant Report - Elasticity Report
A report commissioned by IPART on responsiveness of public transport use to changes in public transport fares. CEPA used historical Opal data to estimate the likely change in public transport journeys in response to a change in fares for different user groups, trip distances, times of the day, days of the week and for different modes of transport.
PDF 1.41MB
9 Jul 2018 Referral Referral
IPART has received a referral to determine appropriate maximum fares for Opal public transport services until 30 June 2024.
PDF 513.03KB

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions