Transport
Rural and Regional Buses

Rural and Regional Bus services from 1 January 2018

Status
In progress
Start Date
Mar 2017
Final Report
Dec 2017
What

IPART has been asked to determine the maximum fares for rural and regional bus services from 1 January 2018, and provide advice to the NSW Government on the development of on-demand services in rural and regional areas of NSW.

We released an Issues Paper in May identifying the key issues, and received stakeholder submissions. 

Key contact:
Brett Everett
Email

Milestones

Why

IPART’s current fare determination for rural and regional buses is due to expire on 31 December 2017.  

Where

This review covers all areas of NSW except the Sydney metropolitan and outer areas (Newcastle, Wollongong, part of the Hunter region and Blue Mountains).

Who

This review affects people who may use bus services provided by private operators under contracts with the NSW Government, and Community Transport Service Providers in rural and regional areas.  

How

We will undertake public consultation, do our own research and analysis, and obtain expert advice in setting maximum fares from 1 January 2018.  We are conducting operator and customer surveys, and appointed AECOM to investigate and provide advice on the efficient costs of providing rural and regional bus services in NSW.

What Next

Once we have undertaken our analysis and considered the advice and submissions we receive, we will release a Draft Report in September 2017 that explains our draft determination, findings and recommendations, and seek further submissions. 

We will consider all submissions and comments on the Draft Report before making our final determinations and recommendations, and provide our Final Report to the Minister for Transport and Infrastructure in December 2017.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions