Water
Metro Pricing

Developer charges and backlog sewerage charges for metropolitan water agencies 2017

Status
Consultation
Start Date
Oct 2017
End Date
Oct 2018
15
Days left for submissions
Deadline: 6 Aug 2018
Have your say
What

IPART is reviewing maximum charges levied by metropolitan water utilities (Sydney Water Corporation, Hunter Water Corporation and Central Coast Council) for:

  • connecting a new service to a new development – former developer charges,
  • connecting a new service to an existing property – former backlog sewerage charges or minor service extension charges; and
  • upgrading an existing service to an existing property – a new charge.

Our review excludes developer charges for recycled water.

Why

We last determined Sydney Water’s and Hunter Water’s developer charges in 2000, and Central Coast Council’s charges in 2013.  Our backlog sewerage charges methodology was last set in 1997 for Sydney Water, Hunter Water and Central Coast Council and updated in 2006 for Gosford City Council.

This review would replace the 2000 and 2013 Determinations of developer charges, the 1997 and 2006 Determinations of backlog sewerage charges for metropolitan water utilities, and Schedule 8 (minor service extension charge) of our 2016 Determination of retail prices for Sydney Water.

We have also introduced a new charge for voluntary upgrades of services to existing properties to address water flow and pressure issues for firefighting raised by stakeholders as part of our consultation on this review.

How

We released our Issues Paper in October 2017, received all stakeholder submissions in January 2018, and held a public hearing in March 2018.  We have considered stakeholder submissions and comments in making our draft decisions. 

What next

We have released our Draft Report, Draft Determination and Draft Template Spreadsheet for further comment.  We are seeking stakeholder comment on Draft Report by 6 August 2018.  We will consider all stakeholder feedback and undertake our own analysis before making our final decisions in October 2018.

Key Contact
Jean-Marc Kutschukian
Email
02 9290 8453
Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions