Water
Metro Pricing

Sydney Desalination Plant prices from 1 July 2017

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Jul 2016
Final Report
Jun 2017
Date Document type Description Documents
27 Jun 2017 Final Report Final Report
The Final Report sets out our decisions on SDP’s prices. These will apply from 1 July 2017 for five years.
PDF 3.21MB
27 Jun 2017 Media Release Media Release on Final Report
This media release provides an overview of:
 the Final Report and Determination for the SDP price review, and
 the Final Methodology Paper on the energy and efficiency adjustment mechanisms for SDP.
PDF 30.98KB
27 Jun 2017 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet on Final Report and Determination
This fact sheet summarises our decisions on SDP’s maximum prices over the 5-year period from 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2022 (the 2017 determination period).
PDF 147.13KB
27 Jun 2017 Information Paper Information paper on Final Report and Determination
This information paper provides further information about our decisions on SDP’s maximum prices over the 2017 determination period.
PDF 185.98KB
27 Jun 2017 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet on Final Methodology Paper on the energy and efficiency adjustment mechanisms
This fact sheet summarises our decisions on how the energy adjustment and efficiency carryover mechanisms will apply to SDP’s prices from 1 July 2022.
PDF 57.37KB
27 Jun 2017 Information Paper Information paper on Final Methodology Paper on the energy and efficiency adjustment
This information paper provides further information about our decisions on the methodology for the energy and efficient adjustment mechanisms
PDF 51.7KB
27 Jun 2017 Determination Final Determination
The Determination is the legal instrument for our pricing decisions relating to the maximum prices SDP may charge from 1 July 2017.
PDF 563.93KB
27 Jun 2017 Methodology Paper Final Methodology Paper on Energy Adjustment and Efficiency Carryover Mechanisms
This Final Methodology Paper sets out our decisions on how the energy adjustment and efficiency carryover mechanisms will apply to SDP’s prices from 1 July 2022.
PDF 1.04MB
27 Jun 2017 Consultant Report Supplementary Consultant Report by Atkins Cardno – Expenditure Review
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Atkins Cardno to review the operating and capital expenditure proposed by SDP. Atkins Cardno’s supplementary report provided analysis and recommendations for our review of SDP’s prices.
PDF 826KB
27 Jun 2017 Consultant Report Supplementary Consultant Report by Marsden Jacob Associates – Energy Review
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Marsden Jacob Associates to review SDP’s energy costs and update our benchmark unit costs.
PDF 916.08KB
21 Mar 2017 Media Release Media Release on Draft Report
This media release provides an overview of:
- the Draft Report for the SDP price review, and
- the Draft Methodology Paper on the energy and efficiency adjustment mechanisms for SDP.

In our media release, we invite feedback from stakeholders on our draft decisions and prices in these reviews.
PDF 40.96KB
21 Mar 2017 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet on Draft Report
This fact sheet summarises our draft decisions on SDP’s maximum prices over the 5-year period from 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2022 (the 2017 determination period).
PDF 56.95KB
21 Mar 2017 Information Paper Information paper on Draft Report
This information paper provides further information about our draft decisions on SDP’s maximum prices over the 2017 determination period.
PDF 178.55KB
21 Mar 2017 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet on Draft Methodology Paper on the energy and efficiency adjustment mechanisms
This fact sheet summarises our draft decisions on how the energy adjustment and efficiency carryover mechanisms would apply at future SDP price reviews.
PDF 64.72KB
21 Mar 2017 Information Paper Information Paper for the Draft Methodology Paper on the energy adjustment and efficiency carryover mechanisms
This information paper provides further information about our draft decisions on the methodology for the energy adjustment and efficiency carryover mechanisms.
PDF 55.02KB
21 Mar 2017 Draft Report Draft Report
The Draft Report sets out our decisions on SDP’s prices. These would apply from 1 July 2017. We are seeking feedback from stakeholders on our Draft Report by 18 April 2017.
Submissions to this report (5)
PDF 2.36MB
21 Mar 2017 Draft Determination Draft Determination
The Draft Determination is the legal instrument for our draft pricing decisions relating to the maximum prices SDP could charge from 1 July 2017.
PDF 547.96KB
21 Mar 2017 Draft Methodology Paper Draft Methodology Paper on the energy adjustment and efficiency carryover mechanisms
This Draft Methodology Paper sets out our draft decisions on how the energy adjustment and efficiency carryover mechanisms would apply at future SDP price reviews. We are seeking feedback from stakeholders on our Draft Methodology Paper by 18 April 2017.
PDF 890.95KB
21 Mar 2017 Consultant Report Consultant Report by Atkins Cardno – Expenditure Review
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Atkins Cardno to review the operating and capital expenditure proposed by SDP. Atkins Cardno’s report provided analysis and recommendations for our review of SDP’s prices.
PDF 1.33MB
21 Mar 2017 Consultant Report Consultant Report by Marsden Jacob Associates – Energy Review
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Marsden Jacob Associates to review SDP’s energy costs. Marsden Jacob’s report also provided analysis and recommendations for our review of the energy adjustment mechanism.
PDF 2.74MB
21 Mar 2017 Consultant Report Consultant Report by Deloitte – Insurance Review (Confidential)
Deloitte provided IPART with a review of SDP’s Industrial and Special Risks insurance policies and premiums. This report is confidential.
PDF 24.74KB
31 Aug 2016 Advertisement Advertisement on Issues Paper
Advertisement on Issues Paper
PDF 78.84KB
29 Aug 2016 Media Release Media Release on Issues Paper
This media release provides an overview of the SDP price review and the review of the 2012 Methodology Paper on the energy and efficiency adjustment mechanisms for SDP. It invites feedback from stakeholders on the key issues in these reviews.
PDF 131.93KB
29 Aug 2016 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet on Issues Paper
This fact sheet summarises the key issues in the SDP price review and the review of the 2012 Methodology Paper on the energy and efficiency adjustment mechanisms for SDP.
PDF 120.87KB
29 Aug 2016 Issues Paper Issues Paper
The Issues Paper summarises the key issues in in setting SDP’s prices from 1 July 2017 and the 2012 Methodology Paper on the energy and efficiency adjustment mechanisms for SDP. It also outlines our preliminary views on these issues. We are seeking comment from SDP, other stakeholders and the public on our Issues Paper.
Submissions to this report (6)
PDF 1.55MB
29 Aug 2016 Preliminary View SDP Preliminary Position Paper
On 8 August 2016, we received a preliminary position paper from SDP. SDP will respond to our Issues Paper by 24 October 2016 with its pricing proposal, which we will place on our website so that stakeholders can review it and provide comments to us.
PDF 8.87MB
30 Apr 2012 Methodology Paper Methodology Paper - Effeciency & Energy Adjustment Mechanisms
The Paper sets out a methodology to adjust Sydney Desalination Plant prices from 1 July 2017 to take account of efficiency gains and surplus energy gains and losses. The Paper follows submissions received on an earlier Discussion Paper
PDF 900.59KB
23 Feb 2012 Terms of Reference Terms of Reference
Revised terms of reference for IPART's review of Sydney Desalination Plant price. The revised terms of reference include mechanisms to carry over efficiency gain / losses and to recover gains and losses beyond a band that result from the the sale of surplus electricity and RECs in times of shutdown and restart.
PDF 288.75KB

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions