

| ITEM: | 10.16 |
|-------------|---|
| SUBJECT: | SPECIAL RATE VARIATION - NOTICE OF INTENTION |
| FILE/INDEX: | SPECIAL RATE VARIATION NOTICE OF INTENTION TO NOMINAT FOR 2017/18 |
| PRESENTED B | Y: MAXINE COMPTON, GRANTS & BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT OFFICER |
| | MATT FANNING, DEPUTY GENERAL MANAGER OPERATIONS |
| | LIZ JEREMY, GENERAL MANAGER |
| | MICHELLE MCFADYEN, DEPUTY GENERAL MANAGER |

.MOVED (Cr Harrison/Cr Wright-Turner)

That Council:

- 1. Notify the NSW Independent Regulatory and Pricing Tribunal of its intention to lodge an application for a Special Rate Variation for the 2017/18 Financial Year.
- 2. Undertake the community engagement initiatives outlined within this report inclusive of amendments to Council's Integrated Planning & Reporting documentation (Delivery Program and Long Term Financial Plan) to support the Special Rate Variation application
- 3. Place on public exhibition the Integrated Planning & Reporting documents that articulate the special rate variation for a minimum period of six (6) weeks from 15 December

For: Cr King, Cr Klipin, Cr Harrison, Cr Jenkins, Cr Fenton and Cr Wright-Turner. Against: Cr Carter

11 CONFIDENTIAL MATTERS

Nil



Minutes for the Extraordinary Council Meeting

Date: 08 February 2017

Location: Bellingen Shire Council Chambers

Time: 9.00AM

COUNCIL ADVISES THAT ALL OR PART OF THE MEETING MAY BE AUDIO RECORDED BY COUNCIL





MINUTES

ExtraOrdinary Council Meeting held in the Council Chambers, Bellingen on Wednesday 08 February 2017 commencing at 9.00am.

PRESENT

Councillors Garry Carter, Dominic King (Mayor), Steve Klipin, Desmae Harrison, Steve Jenkins, Jennie Fenton and Toni Wright-Turner.

IN ATTENDANCE

General Manager Liz Jeremy, Acting Deputy General Manager Corporate and Community Alison Pattinson, Deputy General Manager Operations Matt Fanning, Chief Financial Officer Chris Hodge, Executive Assistant to Mayor and General Manager Symone Williams.

1 APOLOGIES

Nil

2 DECLARATION OF PECUNIARY AND NON PECUNIARY INTEREST

Nil

3 PUBLIC ACCESS/PRESENTATIONS

Nil



4 CIVIC LEADERSHIP

| ITEM: | 4.1 |
|-------------|--|
| SUBJECT: | SPECIAL RATE VARIATION - APPLICATION TO IPART |
| FILE/INDEX: | SPECIAL RATE VARIATION 17/18 - APPLICATION TO IPART |
| PRESENTED B | Y: MATT FANNING, DEPUTY GENERAL MANAGER OPERATIONS |
| | LIZ JEREMY, GENERAL MANAGER |
| | CHRIS HODGE, CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER |
| | MAXINE COMPTON, GRANTS & BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT OFFICER |
| | MICHELLE MCFADYEN, DEPUTY GENERAL MANAGER |

MOVED (Cr Fenton/Cr Klipin)

That Council:

- 1. Acknowledge the feedback received from the community during the community and public exhibition process.
- 2. Adopt the updated Long Term Financial Plan that includes the 6% Special Rate Variation
- 3. Adopt the updated Delivery Program that includes the 6% Special Rate Variation
- 4. Make application to the NSW Independent Regulatory and Pricing Tribunal for a single year permanent 6% Special Rate Variation, under S. 508(2) of the NSW Local Government Act 1993, for the 2017/18 Financial Year for the specific purpose of implementing and partly funding its sealed road resurfacing program, based on the contents of this report.
- 5. Express its concerns to the State and Federal government regarding the impact on our community, our roads and our bridges of non-rateable land, specifically national parks and state forests.
- 6. Make strong representations to the State and Federal Government in relation to payment of rates on land currently owned by the Crown, specifically State Forest and National Parks.
- 7. Make strong representations to both the State and Federal Government regarding the distribution of Financial Assistance Grants, seeking a revision of the principles imposed by the Federal Government with the overall objective of a revised method of distribution by the state based on need.
- 8. Make strong representations to relevant State and Federal government departments and local members of parliament in relation to income support to meet the essential needs (such as housing) of low income earners, such as pensioners.

For: Cr King, Cr Klipin, Cr Harrison, Cr Fenton and Cr Wright-Turner. Against: Cr Carter and Cr Jenkins.

Meeting concluded 9.45am.

Signed:

Cr Dominic King, MAYOR CHAIRPERSON