TWEED SHIRE COUNCIL - MEETING TASK SHEET

User Instructions

If necessary to view the original Report in CivicClerk, view it here. - Click to View Agenda Item

ACTION ITEM - Council Meeting - 16 February 2023

TITLE: LATE Special Rate Variation Application 2023/24

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

That Council determine its position on proceeding to submit an application for a Special Rate Variation application for 2023/24 to the NSW Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART).

MEETING RESOLUTION

ALTERNATE MOTION

Cr Chris Cherry (Mayor)
Cr Warren Polglase

RESOLVED that Council:

- 1. Make application to IPART for a special rate variation of 2.35% which would generate approximately \$1.6M in additional revenue.
- 2. During the period until Council receives the IPART determination (first week of June), that:
 - a. A report be brought back to Council that identifies General Fund services currently provided by Council that are not an obligation under the Local Government Act or statutory responsibilities from other Acts, including those services provided by the other two tiers of government that Council is not required to provide, with details of the costs of service provision.
 - b. The report also include a range of options for Council's consideration to reduce existing expenditure and services as an alternative measure to fund the \$1.6M as outlined in the Special Rate Variation application.
 - c. That the Draft Integrated Planning and Reporting documents, to be considered at the April 2023 Council meeting, include a number of alternative funding and service level options for public exhibition.

Cr Byrnes put forward an amendment to move Option 3 - Resolve to not submit an Special Rate Variation application for 2023-24, but this amendment failed to receive a seconder therefore it lapsed.

Cr Polglase temporarily left the meeting at 5.23 pm.

The Motion was Carried

VOTE FOR - Cr Chris Cherry (Mayor), Cr Meredith Dennis (Deputy Mayor), Cr Rhiannon Brinsmead, Cr Nola Firth, Cr James Owen, Cr Warren Polglase

VOTE AGAINST - Cr Reece Byrnes

ABSENT. DID NOT VOTE - Nil