Woman typing on calculator
Electrical post and sky
Total feedback submissions

Under the Electricity Supply Act 1995, the Minister for Energy and Environment is responsible for issuing licences for the transmission and distribution of electricity in NSW. IPART administers the licensing regime on behalf of the Minister, which includes administration of licence fees.

We have finalised our review of the methodology for calculating licence fees for 2021–22. 

Ausgrid, Endeavour Energy, Essential Energy and TransGrid, (the licensed electricity network operators), are required to pay licence fees (annual or otherwise) under the conditions of their licences.

Each year, IPART makes a recommendation to the Minister, and the Minister determines the annual licence fees.

The new methodology will be applied to licence fees for 2021–22 and indexed annually for the following financial years.

Key contact
Christine Allen
(02) 9290 8412