Local Government
Contributions Plan

Review of The Hills Shire Council's Contributions Plan no 12 - Balmoral Road Release Area

Status
Consultation
Start Date
Nov 2018
End Date
May 2019
6
Days left for submissions
Deadline: 17 Dec 2018
Have your say
What

IPART has commenced its assessment of The Hills Shire Council’s revised Contributions Plan No.12 – Balmoral Road Release Area (CP12).

The council publicly exhibited the plan during May 2018 and June 2018. This plan has not yet been adopted by the council.

The version of CP12 currently in force was adopted by the council in 2006 and assessed by IPART in 2011.

Why

The Minister for Planning’s Local Infrastructure Contributions Direction 2012, as amended in February 2018, caps the local infrastructure contributions for residential development that the council can levy under CP12 at $40,000 per lot or dwelling.

The council has submitted the plan to IPART for assessment because it intends to seek Local Infrastructure Growth Scheme (LIGS) funding for the amount of any contribution which is above the cap.

How

We will assess whether the contributions plan meets the following criteria, as set out in the Department of Planning and Environment’s Practice Note (January 2018):

  • Are all items of infrastructure on the essential works list?
  • Is the infrastructure needed to meet demand from new development?
  • Are the cost estimates reasonable?
  • Can the infrastructure be provided in a reasonable timeframe?
  • Are costs reasonably apportioned?
  • Did the council consult appropriately?

IPART is trialling a formal public consultation period for this assessment.  For a period of four weeks, we will accept submissions related to the assessment criteria from any interested parties. We may also conduct targeted consultation on a draft of our assessment report.

Where

CP12 applies to the Balmoral Road Release Area of The Hills Shire LGA in Sydney’s North West.

 

What Next

We invite interested parties to make a submission to IPART about CP12. Submissions should be relevant to the assessment criteria listed above.

The deadline for making submissions to IPART is 17 December 2018. We prefer to receive submissions  electronically via:   https://www.ipart.nsw.gov.au/Home/Contact-Us/Make-a-Submission

Key Contact
Sarah Blackwell
Email
02 9113 7763
Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions