Special Reviews
Local Government

Local Government Compliance and Enforcement

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Jun 2012
End Date
Oct 2014
Date Document type Description Documents
21 Jun 2019 Final Report Final Report
The NSW Government asked IPART to examine local government compliance and enforcement activity (including regulatory powers delegated under NSW legislation) and provide recommendations to reduce unnecessary regulatory burdens for business and the community. This report considers ways to improve the capacity and capability of councils, and the quality of regulatory administration.
PDF 2.77MB
21 Jun 2019 Consultant Report Consultant Report
This report contains a cost benefit analysis of the recommendations contained in IPART’s Final Report conducted by the Centre for International Economics (CIE).
PDF 718.89KB
23 Jun 2014 Notice Addendum - Appendix E Meetings consultations with regulators and other stakeholders
Stakeholders / Local councils / State government agencies that made submissions to the Issues Paper for this review,Public roundtable participants, 4 December 2012 and Stakeholder meetings/consultations held during the course of this review.
PDF 125.9KB
22 May 2014 Draft Report Draft Report
This Draft Report reviews Local Government’s Compliance and Enforcement activities in NSW and makes draft recommendations to provide red tape savings to business and the community. The report considers ways to improve the capacity and capability of councils, and the quality of regulatory administration. The report focuses on councils’ enforcement activities in areas such as planning, building, environment, health, parking, transport and companion animals. IPART is seeking public comment on our draft recommendations, to be considered as part of our Final Report.
Submissions to this report (61)
PDF 1.68MB
22 May 2014 Media Release Media Release on Draft Report
This Media Release sets out key points from the Draft Reports on IPART’s reviews of:
• Local Government Compliance and Enforcement.
• Reforming Licensing in NSW.

These reviews aim to reduce unnecessary regulatory burden and red tape, in order to reduce costs to business and the community in NSW. The Draft Reports for these 2 reviews detail about $300 million of potential savings for business and the community by reducing red tape.

Submissions on our Draft Reports are due by 4 July 2014. We will consider submissions before making final recommendations in our Final Reports.
PDF 43.04KB
22 May 2014 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet on Draft Report
This Fact Sheet summarises IPART’s Draft Report and lists our draft recommendations for our review of Local Government Compliance and Enforcement in NSW. The report considers ways to improve the capacity and capability of councils, and the quality of regulatory administration. The report focuses on councils’ enforcement activities in areas such as planning, building, environment, health, parking, transport and companion animals. Our recommended reforms are expected to reduce red tape to individuals and businesses by about $178 million per year and provide savings of about $42 million per year to councils and $1 million per year to State Government.

We are seeking public comment on our draft recommendations, to be considered as part of our Final Report.
PDF 135.41KB
22 May 2014 Consultant Report Consultant's Final Report on Impact of Draft Recommendations
This report contains CIE’s cost benefit analysis of the draft recommendations contained in IPART’s Draft Report. It contains an expanded impact analysis for each of our recommendations and outlines the assumptions and basis for our red tape reduction and net benefit estimates.
PDF 951.93KB
12 Jul 2013 Letter Letter extending deadline of Draft and Final reports
IPART has commenced consultation with relevant NSW government agencies on specific draft recommendations, and will make any revisions deemed necessary, before resubmitting the draft reports for further review.
In light of the additional consultation requirements, draft reports are required by
July 2013 followed by final reports in October 2013.
PDF 230.7KB
23 Oct 2012 Media Release Media release
IPART is seeking submissions to its red tape review of local government compliance and enforcement. In particular, we are seeking information on specific local government compliance and enforcement activities that are imposing unnecessary costs on business and the community, any impediments to local government applying efficient and effective compliance and enforcement practices, and ideas for reform to reduce unnecessary costs to business and the community. Submissions are due by 29 October, 2012.
PDF 55.24KB
16 Oct 2012 Consultant Report Consultant's Report on register
This report discusses and summarises the register of regulatory functions of local councils in NSW, which has been developed by Stenning & associates for IPART. The register has been developed to inform IPART’s red tape review of Local Government Compliance and Enforcement. IPART will also investigate the merits of maintaining this register as an ongoing resource for government and councils.
PDF 1.5MB
16 Oct 2012 Spreadsheet Model Consultant's register of regulatory functions
This register lists and describes the regulatory functions of councils in NSW. It has been developed by Stenning & Associates to inform IPART’s red tape review of Local Government Compliance and Enforcement. The conditions of use for the register are stated in the ‘Introduction’ worksheet in the ‘disclaimer’ section. IPART will also investigate the merits of maintaining this register as an ongoing resource for government and councils.
XLSX 89.63KB
17 Sep 2012 Issues Paper Issues Paper
This Issues Paper discusses questions for IPART’s regulation review of Local Government Compliance and Enforcement. We seek information from businesses, local councils and the broader community on specific local government compliance and enforcement activities that are imposing unnecessary regulatory costs (red tape) on business and the community; impediments to local government applying better enforcement practices; and ideas for reform to reduce red tape.
Submissions to this report (93)
PDF 533.13KB
17 Sep 2012 Fact Sheet Fact sheet for Issues paper
This Fact Sheet summarises IPART’s Issues Paper and lists questions for its review of Local Government Compliance and Enforcement. We seek information from businesses, local councils and the broader community on specific local government compliance and enforcement activities that are imposing unnecessary regulatory costs (red tape) on business and the community; impediments to local government applying better enforcement practices; and ideas for reform to reduce red tape.
PDF 180.52KB
17 Sep 2012 Media Release Media release
IPART seeks submissions to its review of Local Government Compliance and Enforcement. We seek information from businesses, local councils and the broader community on specific local government compliance and enforcement activities that are imposing unnecessary regulatory costs (red tape) on business and the community; impediments to local government applying better enforcement practices; and ideas for reform to reduce red tape.
PDF 54.63KB
3 Jul 2012 Terms of Reference Terms of Reference
The NSW Government has asked IPART to examine local government compliance and enforcement activity (including regulatory powers delegated under NSW legislation) and provide recommendations that will reduce unnecessary regulatory burdens for business and the community.
PDF 89.01KB

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions