Transport
Ethanol

Monitoring wholesale and retail markets for fuel ethanol in 2017-18

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Aug 2018
End Date
Dec 2018
Date Document type Description Documents
18 Dec 2018 Final Report Final Report
Final Report - Monitoring of wholesale and retail markets for fuel ethanol in 2017-18
PDF 1.69MB
15 Oct 2018 Draft Report Draft Report
IPART has released its Draft Report on monitoring of wholesale and retail markets for fuel ethanol in 2017-18. We found that, on average across New South Wales, retail prices of E10 were 2.2 cents per litre lower than the price of regular unleaded petrol (RULP, or ULP91); consistent with the difference we found last year.[1] Sales of E10 as a proportion of total petrol sales were relatively stable during 2017-18, at around 26.7%. As E10 contains around 10% ethanol, this means approximately 2.7% of total petrol sales were ethanol
We invite interested parties to make a submission to our Draft Report by Friday 12 November. We will then consider stakeholder submissions and conduct further analysis, before submitting our Final Report to the Minister in December 2018
PDF 1.82MB
15 Oct 2018 Media Release Media Release - Draft Report
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is seeking comments on its draft report on monitoring the wholesale and retail markets for ethanol used in fuel blends like E10.
HTML of Media Release - Draft Report
20 Aug 2018 Media Release Media Release
IPART seeks comment on its proposed approach to ethanol market monitoring
HTML of Media Release
20 Aug 2018 Issues Paper Issues Paper
This Issues Paper sets out how we propose to monitor the retail market for E10 and the wholesale market for ethanol, and seeks stakeholder comments on our proposed approach. Submissions are due by 10 September 2018.
Submissions to this report (3)
PDF 836.63KB

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions