Water
Metro Pricing

Prices for Essential Energy’s water and sewerage services in Broken Hill from 1 July 2019

Status
In progress
Start Date
Nov 2016
End Date
Jun 2019
Date Document type Description Documents
2 Apr 2019 Draft Report Draft report
The Draft Report sets out draft prices and decisions for our review of maximum prices that Essential Energy can charge for water and sewerage services, in and around Broken Hill from 1 July 2019. We seek feedback from stakeholders on our Draft Report by 24 April 2019.
PDF 2.19MB
2 Apr 2019 Draft Determination Draft determination
The Draft Determination is a draft legal instrument for the maximum prices that Essential Energy can charge for water and sewerage services from 1 July 2019. We seek feedback on our Draft Determination from stakeholders by 24 April 2019.
PDF 776.24KB
2 Apr 2019 Media Release Media release on draft report
We have set draft prices for Essential Energy’s water and sewerage services in and around Broken Hill, and for WaterNSW’s Murray River to Broken Hill Pipeline, from 1 July 2019. Our Draft Reports for both reviews are available on our website and we invite submissions from stakeholders by 24 April 2019.
PDF 47.25KB
2 Apr 2019 Fact Sheet Fact sheet on draft report
The Fact Sheet summarises our draft decisions for the Essential Energy water price review, and the impact of our draft prices on customer bills. We seek feedback from stakeholders on our draft decisions by 24 April 2019.
PDF 235.11KB
2 Apr 2019 Consultant Report Consultant report by Aither
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Aither to review Essential Energy’s capital expenditure, asset planning and operating expenditure proposals for its water and sewerage services, including its proposed consequential works, and provide analysis and recommendations for our review.
PDF 1.32MB
2 Apr 2019 Consultant Report Consultant report by Frontier
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Frontier Economics to review Essential Water’s and WaterNSW’s demand forecasts, and Essential Water’s forecast water connections, and provide analysis and recommendations for our review.
PDF 817.77KB
2 Apr 2019 Consultant Report Consultant report by Marsden Jacobs Associates
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Marsden Jacob Associates to review Essential Water’s proposed trade waste and miscellaneous charges, and provide analysis and recommendations for our review.
PDF 464.48KB
21 Nov 2018 Letter Letter from the Minister on the Broken Hill pipeline
Letter from the Minister on the Broken Hill pipeline
PDF 2.07MB
16 Nov 2018 Media Release Media Release on public hearing
This media release provides an overview of the public hearing on 20 November 2018 in Broken Hill on Essential Water’s proposed prices from 1 July 2019.
PDF 193.94KB
26 Sep 2018 Advertisement Advertisement on Issues Paper
Advertisement on Issues Paper - Invitation for feedback
PDF 150.11KB
25 Sep 2018 Issues Paper Issues paper
This Issues Paper sets out key issues in our review of Essential Energy’s prices for water and sewerage services in Broken Hill, to apply from 1 July 2019. The Issues Paper summarises Essential Energy’s pricing proposal, sets the context of the review, and discusses issues that we are seeking views on from the public and stakeholders.
Submissions to this report (14)
PDF 1.35MB
25 Sep 2018 Media Release Media Release
IPART is seeking submissions from the public and other stakeholders on Essential Energy’s proposed water and sewerage prices in and around Broken Hill, and WaterNSW’s proposed prices for the Murray River to Broken Hill pipeline, from 1 July 2019. Issues Papers for both reviews are now available.
PDF 45.83KB
25 Sep 2018 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet
This Fact Sheet provides information for customers and other stakeholders on our Issues Paper for the Essential Water price review. It outlines the key issues in the review, and provides information on how to provide input to the review.
PDF 290.91KB
19 Jul 2018 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet - Infographic
Prices for Essential Energy’s Water and Sewerage Services in Broken Hill from 1 July 2019
PDF 176.7KB
12 Feb 2018 Media Release Media Release
IPART has issued this press release following its meeting with the Mayor of Broken Hill City Council.
PDF 39.94KB
14 Nov 2016 Media Release Media Release
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) has agreed to Essential Energy’s request to defer the scheduled price review of its water and sewerage business in Broken Hill for 12 months. Instead of starting in July 2017, the review of Essential Energy’s water and sewerage prices for Broken Hill will now commence in July 2018, with any price changes to be effective from 1 July 2019. In granting the deferral, IPART requires that Essential Energy’s water and sewerage prices in Broken Hill for 2018-19 remain unchanged from those applying in 2017-18.
PDF 32.63KB

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions