Water
Rural Water

WaterNSW rural bulk water prices from 1 July 2021

Status
Consultation
Start Date
Jun 2020
End Date
Jun 2021
16
Days left for submissions
Deadline: 16 Oct 2020
Have your say
IPART seeks feedback on Water NSW's rural bulk water prices from 1 July 2021

The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is currently reviewing prices and costs for rural bulk water services provided by Water NSW. Our review will set new prices to apply from 1 July 2021.

Water NSW has proposed large increases in costs to maintain its service levels and meet its regulatory and legislative requirements. It is also seeking to pass on large increases in Murray-Darling Basin Authority and Dumaresq-Barwon Border Rivers Commission costs in some valleys.

IPART’s price review will focus on assessing whether Water NSW’s proposed cost increases are justified. We will also consider what customers should pay, and how costs should be shared between customers and the broader community.

We recognise that regional and rural customers and communities have endured a long and extreme drought, bushfires and the ongoing effects of the COVID-19 pandemic. We will seek to balance a range of factors including the need to set prices that reflect efficient costs as well as customer bill impacts and affordability.

We released our Issues Paper on 15 September 2020, which identifies key issues for this price review. Detailed information on Water NSW’s pricing proposal is available here. We encourage customers, communities and other stakeholders to make submissions to this price review. We will consider all comments made through our website and in submissions, which are due by 16 October 2020.

To access valley-specific information on Water NSW’s proposed costs, prices and indicative bills, select a valley on the map below.

Map of Water NSW rural valleys BORDER RIVERS NAMOI GWYDIR PEEL GREATER SYDNEY MURRUMBIDGEE LACHLAN SOUTHCOAST MACQUARIE SYDNEY MURRAY MURRAY FAR WEST HUNTER LOWBIDGEE
Have your say

We want to hear from you.

IPART’s Issues Paper identifies key issues for this price review and seeks stakeholder feedback on specific questions. Stakeholders can make a submission to address these questions here.

Stakeholders can also provide comments or feedback in the comment box below.

Click here to view form.

Key Contact
Scott Chapman
Email
02 9290 8449
Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions