Water
Rural Water

WaterNSW rural bulk water prices from 1 July 2021

Status
In progress
Start Date
Jun 2020
End Date
Jun 2021
IPART will release a Supplementary Draft Report on metering in mid-June 2021

The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal has decided to defer the release of our Final Report and Determination to allow us to adequately assess and consult further on Water NSW’s proposed expenditure on non-urban water metering reform.

We will publish a Supplementary Draft Report on non-urban metering reform at the end of June, and will seek stakeholder feedback in July 2021 before we make our final decisions for this review.

Consultation on our draft decisions

We released our Draft Report on rural bulk water supplies in NSW in March 2021.

The Draft Report set out our draft decisions on the maximum prices that Water NSW can charge for rural bulk water services over the 2021 determination period.

Our draft decisions were aimed at supporting the long term security and reliability of water supply in regional and rural NSW. Increases in expenditure are needed to provide a sustainable water supply in regional areas, which are particularly vulnerable to the impact of climate change.

We also held a joint online public hearing on Tuesday 30 March 2021. The online public hearing was part of our ongoing consultation process and provided opportunity for stakeholders to have their say and ask questions on this water price review. Further information on the public hearing, including the agenda, transcript and link to the video recordings can be accessed here.

We have received stakeholder feedback and submissions on our Draft Report, which are published on our website here. We will consider feedback and submissions we received in our Final Report which is now due to be released in September 2021.

To access valley-specific information on our draft pricing decisions and drivers of price changes, please select a valley on the map below.

 

Map of Water NSW rural valleys BORDER RIVERS NAMOI GWYDIR PEEL GREATER SYDNEY MURRUMBIDGEE LACHLAN SOUTHCOAST MACQUARIE SYDNEY MURRAY MURRAY FAR WEST HUNTER LOWBIDGEE
Key Contact
Matthew Mansell
Email
02 9113 7770
Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions