The Electricity Infrastructure Investment Act 2020 (EII Act) enables the NSW Electricity Infrastructure Roadmap (Roadmap) – the NSW Government’s plan to transform the NSW electricity system into one that is affordable, clean and reliable. The intent of the Roadmap is to coordinate investment in transmission, generation, storage and firming infrastructure as ageing coal-fired power plants retire. To support this development, the EII Act establishes at least five Renewable Energy Zones (REZs).
In December 2021, the Minister for Energy (Minister) appointed IPART as a regulator under the EII Act. A key function of IPART’s role is to prepare an annual report on the exercise of functions under the EII Act by the Consumer Trustee, the Financial Trustee, the Infrastructure Planner and the Regulator. The Australian Energy Regulator (AER) was also appointed by the Minister as a Regulator under the EII Act in November 2021. This report covers the exercise of functions by both Regulators.a
This is IPART’s first annual report to the Minister as required under section 70(2) of the EII Act to meet our statutory reporting requirement for the 2021-22 financial year (FY 2021-22).