Local Government
Costs of Local Government elections

Review of costs of conducting local government elections

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Feb 2019
End Date
Aug 2019
Date Document type Description Documents
18 Sep 2019 Final Report Final Report
This final report sets out our recommendations on a costing methodology to be applied in determining the amount the NSW Electoral Commission (NSWEC) charges councils for local government election services.
PDF 2.28MB
1 Aug 2019 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet
We received 47 submissions in response to our Draft Report on our Review of local government election costs, which we published on 25 June 2019. All non-confidential submissions are now available on our website. We will consider all submissions prior to presenting our final recommendations to the Minister for Local Government on 30 August 2019.
PDF 56.45KB
2 Jul 2019 Public Forum Webcast
Watch
25 Jun 2019 Draft Report Draft Report
This draft report outlines our recommendations on a costing methodology to be applied in determining the amount the NSW Electoral Commission (NSWEC) charges councils for local government election services. We will consider all stakeholder views prior to presenting our final recommendations to the Minister for Local Government by 30 August 2019.
Submissions to this report (47)
PDF 2.43MB
25 Jun 2019 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet
IPART has released a draft report which outlines our recommendations on a costing methodology to be applied in determining the amount the NSW Electoral Commission (NSWEC) charges councils for local government election services.
PDF 257.26KB
25 Jun 2019 Media Release Media Release
IPART has released a draft report and is seeking feedback on its recommended changes to what councils pay for local government election services provided by the NSW Electoral Commission (NSWEC).
PDF 63.25KB
15 Apr 2019 Issues Paper Issues Paper
This Issues Paper outlines our proposed approach to the review, of local government election costs, identifies key issues that need to be considered.
Submissions to this report (18)
PDF 1.38MB
15 Apr 2019 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet
IPART has released an Issues Paper on our review of local government election costs. Our Issues Paper outlines our proposed approach to the review, identifies key issues we will need to consider and seeks comments from stakeholders.
PDF 195.94KB
15 Apr 2019 Media Release Media Release
IPART is reviewing the cost of conducting local government elections. We have released an Issues Paper to outline the review process and the key issues that need to be considered. Interested stakeholders are invited to make a submission by 10 May 2019.
PDF 41.13KB
7 Feb 2019 Terms of Reference Terms of Reference
The Premier has set out the Terms of Reference for IPART to provide a report to the Minister for Local Government recommending a costing methodology to be applied in determining the amount the NSW Electoral Commission (NSWEC) charges councils which use the NSWEC to administer their ordinary elections.
PDF 392.74KB

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions