Special Reviews
Container Deposit Scheme

Container Deposit Scheme Monitoring

Status
Consultation
Start Date
Nov 2017
End Date
Dec 2018
13
Days left for submissions
Deadline: 8 Jun 2018
Have your say
Frequently Asked Questions

IPART is undertaking a review that will involve monitoring and reporting on the impact of the implementation of the NSW Container Deposit Scheme (CDS) on beverage prices. 

1. What is IPART’s role in relation to the NSW Container Deposit Scheme?

IPART has been asked by the NSW Premier to monitor and report on the impact of the NSW Container Deposit Scheme (CDS) on beverage prices between 1 November 2017 and 1 December 2018.

According to the draft Terms of Reference IPART is to monitor:

  • the effect of the scheme on container beverage prices
  • the performance and conduct of suppliers, and
  • any other market impacts on consumers resulting from the scheme.

2. How will you monitor prices?

IPART has released a Progress Report outlining our preliminary findings and recommendations on the impacts of the NSW container deposit scheme on beverage prices and competition over the first three months of the scheme (ie, December 2017 to February 2018).  It also explains our framework for monitoring and assessing the impacts of the CDS and seeks comments from stakeholders to inform our monitoring over the rest of the year.

3. Are you looking at the charges being imposed on small businesses in the container beverage industry?

IPART has been asked to monitor the performance and conduct of suppliers in the container beverage industry.  Suppliers may include manufacturers, wholesalers, distributors and retailers of beverages. 

4. What happens if you find excessive price rises? 

Following the monitoring and assessment, IPART may make recommendations to the Government to address any adverse effects arising from the operation of the Scheme. The Government can use IPART’s advice to decide what action might be required.   

5. When will you report on the findings?

A draft report will be published in September 2018.  A final report will be provided to the NSW Government covering the first 12 months of the scheme in December 2018.

6. Where do I go with comments and questions about the scheme such as collection points and refunds? 

If you have questions relating to collection points contact TOMRA Cleanaway on 1800 290 691.  For other questions, contact the NSW Environment Protection Authority via this link or email container.deposit@epa.nsw.gov.au

7. Where can I submit my views about pricing and other related impacts of the scheme?

Throughout IPART’s review, consumers and other stakeholders can report their experiences in relation to changes in container beverage prices, the performance and conduct of suppliers, and any other market impacts on consumers online here.

This information will be considered in IPART’s reports to Government over the next 12 months.  Depending on the nature of your comments, we may share the information you provide with other NSW Government agencies (such as the EPA and NSW Fair Trading).

NSW Fair Trading is also targeting retailers and distributors who wrongly use the CDS as a reason to increase prices.  If price increases are being wrongly attributed to the scheme, consumers can contact NSW Fair Trading at www.fairtrading.nsw.gov.au or phone 13 32 20. 

Key Contact
Brett Everett
Email
02 9290 8400
Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions