Special Reviews
Valuer General

Review of prices for Valuer General’s services to councils from 1 July 2019

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Sep 2018
End Date
May 2019
What

IPART has completed its review of prices that the Valuer General can charge councils for land valuation services from 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2025.

The Valuer General may charge councils a fee for valuing land.  Land valuations are the basis on which councils calculate rates and issue rates notices to ratepayers.

We have now released a Final Report and Determination

Why

The Premier asked IPART to determine the maximum prices the Valuer General may charge councils for valuing land for a 6-year period, from 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2025.

IPART last set these prices in May 2014, for a 5-year period.  The current determination expires on 30 June 2019.

The Final Report and Determination sets out our decisions for the next determination period.

How

In releasing our Final Report, we considered stakeholder comments on our Issues Paper, Draft Report and feedback at the Public Hearing.

Our Final Report sets out our decisions and rationale for these decisions. These include:

  • Final prices that are around 2.5% lower than the 2014 determination and in aggregate 4.5% lower than those proposed by the Valuer General
  • An allocation of 30.5% of the Valuer General’s efficient costs to councils, which is lower than the 2014 determination allocation of 34.0%
  • Changing from state-wide residential and non-residential prices, to pricing based on four geographical zones – Coastal, Country, Metro and City of Sydney – with a single and different price for each zone.

More information is included in our Final Report. Media Release and Fact Sheet are also available here.

 

Key Contact
John Madden
Email
02 9113 7780
Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions