Special Reviews
Valuer General

Review of prices for Valuer General’s services to councils from 1 July 2019

Status
Consultation
Start Date
Sep 2018
End Date
Jun 2019
80
Days left for submissions
Deadline: 11 Jan 2019
Have your say
What

IPART is reviewing the maximum prices the Valuer General can charge for land valuation services provided to councils from 1 July 2019. 

Land valuations are the basis on which councils calculate and issue rates notices to ratepayers.  The Valuer General may charge a fee for land valuation services provided to councils.

Why

The Premier has asked IPART to determine the maximum prices the Valuer General may charge for land valuation services to councils for 6 years from 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2025.  

We last set prices for the Valuer General’s land valuation services to councils in 2014.  The current determination commenced on 1 July 2014 and ends on 30 June 2019. 

How

We will conduct a public consultation process and our own research and analysis.   We will consider:

  • what form of regulation to apply
  • how much revenue the Valuer General needs to provide his services efficiently
  • how much of that revenue should be allocated to councils, and
  • what is an appropriate pricing structure and price path to achieve the target revenue. 

In making our decisions, we will consider the impacts on councils and its customers.

 

What next

We invite feedback from interested stakeholders on our Issues Paper released 17 October 2018 and the Valuer General’s Pricing Proposal due to be submitted on 30 November 2018.  Submissions on the Issues Paper and Valuer General’s Pricing Proposal are due by close of business 11 January 2019.  Stakeholders will also have opportunity to attend a public hearing in February 2019 and comment on a Draft Report in April 2019.  We will consider all stakeholder feedback before we release our Final Report by 31 May 2019.

 

Key Contact
Scott Chapman
Email
02 9290 8449
Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions