Water
Licensing Sydney Water Corporation

2019 Review of the Sydney Water Operating Licence

Status
In progress
Start Date
Jun 2018
End Date
Jun 2019
What

IPART is conducting an end of term review of the existing Sydney Water Operating Licence 2015-2020. We expect the amended licence to apply from 1 July 2019.

We released an Issues Paper as the first stage of stakeholder consultation, and received submissions. The issues paper outlines the current regulatory requirements for each of Sydney Water’s functions and identifies key issues including licence authorisation, water conservation, supply services and performance standards, organisation systems management, customer and stakeholder relations, performance and reporting and reviewing barriers to entry for WICA licensees.

Why

We are reviewing the existing licence to determine whether it is fulfilling its objectives, and to investigate any issues which have arisen during the term that may affect its effectiveness going forward.

How

We are seeking stakeholder views and supporting information on all aspects of the existing licence and there will be further opportunities for stakeholder consultation as this review progresses. We will consider all stakeholder feedback and undertake our own analysis.

We will provide a report to the Minister on the findings of this review in April 2019 and any recommendations for amendment to the existing licence.

When

We will release our draft licence and report in December 2018. We intend to provide our recommendations on the Sydney Water licence review to the Minister for Energy and Utilities in April 2019.

What Next

We will release our draft licence and report in December 2018. Stakeholders will have an opportunity to provide submissions on the draft licence and report in February 2019. We will also hold a Public Workshop in February 2019.

Key Contact
Jamie Luke
Email
Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions