Transport
Rural and Regional Buses

Rural and Regional Bus services from 2018

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Mar 2017
End Date
Dec 2017
Date Document type Description Documents
30 Jan 2018 Final Report Final Report
This Final Report sets out our final fare decisions and recommendations, and explains how and why we reached them.
PDF 3.64MB
30 Jan 2018 Cost model
External Link 
30 Jan 2018 Consultant Report Consultant Report
AECOM - Efficient costs of rural and regional bus operators – Final Report – December 2017
PDF 4.21MB
30 Jan 2018 Determination Determination
This determination fixes appropriate maximum fares for Rural and Regional Bus services and commences on 5 March 2018
PDF 626.97KB
10 Oct 2017 Draft Report Draft Report
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is currently reviewing fares for public bus services provided by private bus operators in rural and regional NSW. We will determine the maximum fares to apply for the 3 years commencing from 1 January 2018.
Submissions to this report (9)
PDF 3.45MB
10 Oct 2017 Draft Determination Draft Determination
Draft Determination - Maximum fares for Rural and Regional Bus Services
PDF 618.98KB
10 Oct 2017 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet for Draft Report
This fact sheet provides a brief summary of IPART’s draft decisions.
PDF 145.56KB
10 Oct 2017 Media Release
View Media Release
10 Oct 2017 Draft bus marginal cost calculator
External Link 
10 Oct 2017 Consultant Report Consultant Report - AECOM
AECOM was engaged to provide expert advice on the efficient costs of rural and regional bus services. This report sets out its draft findings and recommendations.
PDF 3.47MB
10 Oct 2017 Consultant Report Consultant Report - Orima Research
We appointed ORIMA to undertake a survey of rural and regional areas to understand current demand for public transport and the potential for greater use of more flexible, on demand services.
PDF 940.56KB
10 Oct 2017 Fact Sheet Summary Fact Sheet
Summary Fact Sheet for Draft Report
PDF 133.83KB
22 Jun 2017 Media Release Media Release - Feedback sought
There is one week remaining for local residents to have their say about rural and regional bus services as part of a statewide review by the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART).
HTML of Media Release - Feedback sought
16 May 2017 Issues Paper Issues Paper
This Issues Paper explains what the review involves and how we will conduct it, outlines the issues we will consider, and seeks comments from stakeholders.
Submissions to this report (14)
PDF 1.2MB
16 May 2017 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet
This fact sheet provides a brief summary of IPART’s review of rural and regional bus fares
PDF 117.3KB
16 May 2017 Media Release
View Media Release
15 Mar 2017 Terms of Reference Terms of Reference
The Minister for Transport and Infrastructure has referred to IPART the task of determining appropriate maximum fares for rural and regional bus services in NSW. IPART will release a Final Report and Determination at the end of 2017.
PDF 480.44KB

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions