Water
Metro Pricing

Prices for WaterNSW Greater Sydney from 1 July 2020

Status
Consultation
Start Date
Jul 2019
End Date
Jun 2020
6
Days left for submissions
Deadline: 21 Oct 2019
Have your say
Have your say on what you pay for water

We are reviewing the prices WaterNSW can charge for bulk water supply to its customers in the Greater Sydney area from 1 July 2020.

WaterNSW is responsible for protecting 16,000 square kilometres of drinking water catchments, and for the renewal, development, and maintenance of dams and other infrastructure that are used to supply customers with bulk water in Greater Sydney. It is also responsible for supplying bulk water that is essential for water users and communities throughout NSW. 

In the Greater Sydney area, WaterNSW provides bulk water to:

  • Sydney Water Corporation (if you are a customer of Sydney Water, you can find out more about what it means for you here)
  • Three Councils – Wingecarribee Shire Council, Shoalhaven City Council and Goulburn-Mulwaree Council
  • Around 60 other smaller customers that receive raw and unfiltered water directly from WaterNSW.

WaterNSW is proposing significant investment to maintain its existing assets and to plan and develop new infrastructure to secure water supply in the Greater Sydney area.  WaterNSW’s proposal would not increase customer bills over the next four years, because lower interest rates have more than offset the impact of higher investment.  But, because the costs of investment are paid over many years, bills may go up in the future if the proposed level of capital expenditure occurs.

Over the next nine months, we will analyse WaterNSW’s proposal in detail and consult with stakeholders on what WaterNSW’s prices should be.  You can let us know your views on WaterNSW’s proposal below, or you can make a submission to our review here.

Click here to view form.

Find out more

We received WaterNSW's pricing proposal on 1 July 2019.  This is available on our website.

We have a detailed Issues Paper that we published in September 2019.

These highlight issues we seek stakeholders comment on.  You can provide feedback to our Issues Paper by writing a comment in the box above or by making a submission here.  Submissions and feedback will be accepted until 21 October 2019.

Stakeholders will have a further opportunity to present their views at our public hearing in November 2019 which will be held in Sydney.  You can register to attend here.

We will release our Draft Report in March 2020, which will outline our key findings and recommendations.  Before we finalise our review in June 2020, we will consider feedback and stakeholder submissions we receive on our Draft Report in April 2020.

Media

For media enquiries, please contact Julie Sheather by email to media@ipart.nsw.gov.au or by phone on 0409 514 643.

 

Key Contact
Matthew Mansell
Email
02 9113 7770
Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions