Water
Metro Pricing

Prices for WaterNSW Greater Sydney from 1 July 2020

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Jul 2019
End Date
Jun 2020
Date Document type Description Documents
16 Jun 2020 Final Report Final report
This Report sets out our final decisions on the maximum prices that Water NSW can charge for its bulk, raw and unfiltered water services in the Greater Sydney area, to apply from 1 July 2020. It presents prices and how these would affect customers, and explains how we reached our decisions.
PDF 5.59MB
16 Jun 2020 Determination Final determination
This is the legal instrument that would give effect to the decisions made in our Final Report. It outlines the maximum prices that Water NSW can charge its customers for bulk, raw and unfiltered services in the Greater Sydney area.
PDF 440.33KB
16 Jun 2020 Media Release Media release on final report
IPART has released its final report on maximum prices that Water NSW can charge its customers in Greater Sydney from 1 July 2020.
PDF 47.86KB
16 Jun 2020 Presentation Presentation slides for final report
IPART’s presentation slides for the final report on Water NSW Greater Sydney prices.
PDF 1.52MB
16 Jun 2020 Consultant Report Supplementary consultant report by Atkins/Cardno
IPART engaged consultants, Atkins/Cardo, to review Water NSW’s proposed expenditure for efficiency and its demand forecasts. This supplementary report presents its analysis and recommendations.
PDF 606.14KB
16 Jun 2020 Consultant Report Consultant report by Frontier Economics
IPART engaged consultants, Frontier Economics, to review future energy costs of the Shoalhaven Transfer Scheme. This report presents its final analysis and recommendations.
PDF 654.16KB
16 Jun 2020 Consultant Report Consultant report by The Centre for International Economics (CIE)
IPART engaged consultants, CIE, to conduct a peer review of the reasonableness of the approach and logic applied in making a decision on the expected inflation used in calculating the real WACC. This included review of the other regulatory options put forward by utilities on this matter.
PDF 251.49KB
24 Mar 2020 Executive Summary Overview
This Overview summarises our Draft Report relating to our review of the maximum prices that Water NSW can charge for its bulk, raw and unfiltered water services in the Greater Sydney area, to apply from 1 July 2020.
PDF 1.51MB
24 Mar 2020 Draft Report Draft report
This Report sets out our draft decisions on the maximum prices that Water NSW can charge for its bulk, raw and unfiltered water services in the Greater Sydney area, to apply from 1 July 2020. It presents draft prices and how these would affect customers, and explains how we reached our decisions. We are seeking stakeholder feedback on these decisions.
Submissions to this report (7)
PDF 2.41MB
24 Mar 2020 Draft Determination Draft determination
This is a draft of the legal instrument that would give effect to the decisions made in our Draft Report. It outlines the maximum prices that Water NSW can charge its customers for bulk, raw and unfiltered services in the Greater Sydney area.
PDF 436.32KB
24 Mar 2020 Media Release Media release on draft report
IPART has released its draft reports on maximum prices that Sydney Water and Water NSW (in Greater Sydney) can charge their respective customers from 1 July 2020. We seek submissions from the public and other stakeholders by 27 April 2020 on our draft decisions for these two price reviews.
PDF 272.92KB
24 Mar 2020 Consultant Report Consultant report by Atkins/Cardno
IPART engaged consultants, Atkins/Cardo, to review Water NSW’s proposed expenditure for efficiency and its demand forecasts. This report presents its analysis and recommendations.
PDF 4.45MB
24 Mar 2020 Consultant Report Addendum to consultant report by Atkins/Cardno
IPART engaged consultants, Atkins/Cardo, to review Water NSW’s proposed expenditure for efficiency and its demand forecasts. This addendum presents its updated analysis and recommendations.
PDF 367.04KB
24 Mar 2020 Consultant Report Consultant report by Frontier Economics
IPART engaged consultants, Frontier Economics, to review future energy costs of the Shoalhaven Transfer Scheme. This report presents its analysis and recommendations.
PDF 629.08KB
14 Nov 2019 Media Release Media release on public hearing
IPART will be holding a joint public forum on Tuesday 26 November 2019 to seek community views about the prices proposed for Sydney Water’s water, sewerage and related services and WaterNSW’s bulk water services in Greater Sydney.
PDF 299.7KB
13 Nov 2019 Advertisement Advertisement on public hearing
Advertisement on public hearing. It was published in the Daily Telegraph, Sydney Morning Herald on 13 November 2019.
PDF 207.29KB
18 Sep 2019 Advertisement Advertisement on Issues Paper published in the Daily Telegraph, Sydney Morning Herald on 18 September 2019
Advertisement on Issues Paper - Invitation for feedback. It was published in the Daily Telegraph, Sydney Morning Herald on 18 September 2019.
PDF 120.26KB
17 Sep 2019 Issues Paper Issues Paper
This Issues Paper sets out key issues in our review of the maximum prices that WaterNSW can charge its customers for providing bulk water in the Greater Sydney area, to apply from 1 July 2020. The Issues Paper responds to WaterNSW’s pricing proposal, sets the context of the review, and highlights important matters for which we seek stakeholder comment by 21 October 2019.
Submissions to this report (9)
PDF 2.11MB
17 Sep 2019 Media Release Media Release on Issues Paper
IPART is seeking feedback and submissions from the public on the maximum prices that Sydney Water and WaterNSW can charge its customers from 1 July 2020. Submissions are due by 21 October 2019, and we will also hold a Public Hearing in Sydney on 26 November.
PDF 46.87KB
17 Sep 2019 Reference Document Customer feedback form in response WaterNSW’s pricing proposal for the Greater Sydney area
We collected customer feedback on WaterNSW’s proposed prices for the Greater Sydney area as part of our consultation process. This document provides the questions we asked. We are no longer collecting feedback through this form. The feedback received is not published, but formal submissions that we received on our Issues Paper will be available to view shortly here.
PDF 1.67MB
1 Jul 2019 WaterNSW’s pricing proposal
External Link 

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions