Water
Rural Water

Prices for WaterNSW’s Murray River to Broken Hill Pipeline services from 1 July 2019

Status
In progress
Start Date
Feb 2018
End Date
Jun 2019
Date Document type Description Documents
2 Apr 2019 Draft Report Draft report
The Draft Report sets out draft prices and decisions for our review of maximum prices that WaterNSW can charge for the water transportation services provided by the Murray River to Broken Hill Pipeline from 1 July 2019. We seek feedback from stakeholders on our Draft Report by 24 April 2019.
Submissions to this report (2)
PDF 2.48MB
2 Apr 2019 Draft Determination Draft determination
The Draft Determination is a draft legal instrument for the maximum prices that WaterNSW can charge for the water transportation services provided by the Murray River to Broken Hill Pipeline from 1 July 2019. We seek feedback on our Draft Determination from stakeholders by 24 April 2019.
PDF 280.99KB
2 Apr 2019 Media Release Media release on draft report
We have set draft prices for Essential Energy’s water and sewerage services in and around Broken Hill, and for WaterNSW’s Murray River to Broken Hill Pipeline, from 1 July 2019. Our Draft Reports for both reviews are available on our website and we invite submissions from stakeholders by 24 April 2019.
PDF 47.25KB
2 Apr 2019 Fact Sheet Fact sheet on draft report
The Fact Sheet summarises our draft decisions for the WaterNSW Murray River to Broken Hill Pipeline review, including our draft prices. We seek feedback from stakeholders on our draft decisions by 24 April 2019.
PDF 194.98KB
2 Apr 2019 Consultant Report Consultant report by Frontier - energy purchase costs
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Frontier Economics to review WaterNSW’s proposed energy costs, including the procurement process undertaken by the pipeline contractor. Frontier Economics report provides analysis and recommendations for our review of the WaterNSW’s Murray River to Broken Hill Pipeline prices.
PDF 1.38MB
2 Apr 2019 Consultant Report Consultant report by Frontier
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Frontier Economics to review Essential Water’s and WaterNSW’s demand forecasts, and Essential Water’s forecast water connections, and provide analysis and recommendations for our review.
PDF 817.77KB
2 Apr 2019 Consultant Report Consultant report by Synergies
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Synergies Economic Consulting to review WaterNSW’s capital expenditure and operating expenditure proposals for its water transportation services provided by the Murray River to Broken Hill Pipeline, and provide analysis and recommendations for our review.
PDF 1.23MB
21 Nov 2018 Letter Letter from the Minister on the Broken Hill pipeline
Letter from the Minister on the Broken Hill pipeline
PDF 2.07MB
16 Nov 2018 Media Release Media Release on public hearing
This media release provides an overview of the public hearing on 20 November 2018 in Broken Hill on Essential Water’s proposed prices from 1 July 2019.
PDF 193.94KB
26 Sep 2018 Advertisement Advertisement on Issues Paper
Advertisement on Issues Paper - Invitation for feedback
PDF 150.11KB
25 Sep 2018 Issues Paper Issues Paper
This paper sets out key issues for our review of the maximum prices that WaterNSW can charge for the water transportation services provided by the Murray River to Broken Hill Pipeline, from 1 July 2019.
Submissions to this report (12)
PDF 1.84MB
25 Sep 2018 Media Release Media Release
IPART is seeking submissions from the public and other stakeholders on Essential Energy’s proposed water and sewerage prices in and around Broken Hill, and WaterNSW’s proposed prices for the Murray River to Broken Hill pipeline, from 1 July 2019. Issues Papers for both reviews are now available.
PDF 45.83KB
25 Sep 2018 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet
This fact sheet summarises the Issues Paper for our review of the maximum prices that WaterNSW can charge for the water transportation services provided by the Murray River to Broken Hill Pipeline, from 1 July 2019.
PDF 681.13KB
19 Jul 2018 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet - Infographic
Prices for the WaterNSW Murray River to Broken Hill pipeline
PDF 156.02KB
4 May 2018 Fact Sheet Fact sheet for section 16A direction
This fact sheet outlines what the section 16A direction means for our reviews of prices for the WaterNSW’s Murray River to Broken Hill pipeline and Essential Energy’s water and sewerage services to apply from 1 July 2019.
PDF 158.72KB
4 May 2018 Letter Section 16A letter and direction
IPART has received a direction from the NSW Government under section 16A of the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal Act 1992 (IPART Act). This direction requires us to include the efficient costs of WaterNSW complying with two specific Government directions in the prices we set for services provided by the Murray River to Broken Hill Pipeline (the Pipeline). The two Government directions to WaterNSW are to build, operate and maintain the Pipeline; and to construct the Pipeline of substantially Australian rolled steel and meet the minimum targets of the NSW Infrastructure Skills Legacy Program. The WaterNSW prices we will set for the Pipeline’s services will apply from 1 July 2019.
PDF 1.22MB
12 Feb 2018 Media Release Media Release
IPART has issued this press release following its meeting with the Mayor of Broken Hill City Council.
PDF 39.94KB

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions