Transport
Taxi

Taxi fares and licences from July 2018

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Jul 2017
End Date
Mar 2018
Date Document type Description Documents
10 Apr 2018 Final Report Final Report
The Final Report sets out our findings and recommendations for the maximum fares taxis can charge passengers for rank and hail services across NSW, and the number of new taxi licences to be released in regional areas, including where these new licences should be able to operate.
PDF 841.12KB
12 Dec 2017 Draft Report Draft Report
The Draft Report sets out our draft findings and draft recommendations for the maximum fares taxis can charge passengers for rank and hail services across NSW, and the number of new taxi licences needed in regional areas to improve services, including where these new licences should be able to operate.
Submissions to this report (48)
PDF 1.89MB
12 Dec 2017 Media Release Media Release - Sydney
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is seeking feedback on draft recommendations to continue a freeze on taxi fares that has been in place across NSW since 2014.
HTML of Media Release - Sydney
12 Dec 2017 Information Paper Information Paper - Sydney taxi customers
This infographic provides an overview of our draft recommendations for rank and hail taxi fares for Sydney.
PDF 118.47KB
12 Dec 2017 Media Release Media Release - Regional
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is seeking feedback on draft recommendations to improve taxi services in regional areas.
HTML of Media Release - Regional
12 Dec 2017 Information Paper Information Paper - Regional taxi cusomers
This infographic provides an overview of our draft recommendations for rank and hail taxi fares and new licences for regional NSW.
PDF 192.18KB
12 Dec 2017 Consultant Report Consultant Report - CIE
We also commissioned The CIE to estimate the efficient costs of rank and hail taxi services in NSW.
PDF 516.71KB
12 Dec 2017 Consultant Report Consultant Report - HoustonKemp
We engaged HoustonKemp to analyse changes in taxi and rideshare payments since 1 July 2015 using electronic transaction data.
PDF 1.71MB
12 Dec 2017 Consultant Report Consultant Report - Orima Research
We engaged ORIMA Research to undertake a survey of residents in Sydney, other urban areas and other parts of NSW on their point to point transport use.
PDF 2.98MB
12 Dec 2017 Consultant Report Consultant Report - Taverner Research
We engaged Taverner Research to undertake a short calibration survey of Sydney residents’ use of point to point transport.
PDF 275.32KB
18 Oct 2017 Information Paper Information Paper on fares
This Information Paper provides a brief summary of our approach to reviewing maximum fares for taxis across NSW to apply from July 2018.
PDF 104.11KB
18 Oct 2017 Information Paper Information Paper on licences
This Information Paper provides a brief summary of our approach to reviewing the number of new taxi licences to be released outside Sydney from July 2018.
PDF 98.78KB
17 Oct 2017 Fact Sheet Summary Fact Sheet
.
PDF 101.32KB
12 Sep 2017 Issues Paper Issues Paper
This Issues Paper explains what the review involves and how we will conduct it, outlines the issues we have identified, and seeks comments from stakeholders.
Submissions to this report (9)
PDF 1.09MB
12 Sep 2017 Media Release Media Release - Issues Paper
The Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) is reviewing the maximum fares taxis can charge passengers for rank and hail services across NSW, and the number of new licences needed in regional areas to improve services
HTML of Media Release - Issues Paper
12 Sep 2017 Information Paper Information Paper on fares
This Information Paper provides a brief summary of what the Issues Paper says about reviewing maximum fares for taxis across NSW to apply from July 2018.
PDF 124.22KB
12 Sep 2017 Information Paper Information Paper on licences
This Information Paper provides a brief summary of what the Issues Paper says about reviewing the number of new taxi licences to be released outside Sydney from July 2018.
PDF 111.55KB
19 Jul 2017 Referral Referral - Taxi fares outside of Sydney
The Minister for Transport and Infrastructure has referred to IPART the task of making recommendations regarding the appropriate maximum fares for taxi services outside Sydney that ply or stand for hire on a road (“rank and hail services”), to apply from July 2018.
PDF 70.77KB
19 Jul 2017 Referral Terms of arrangement - Taxi licences outside of Sydney
The Minister for Transport and Infrastructure has referred to IPART the task of making recommendations regarding the number of taxi licences (other than licences for wheelchair accessible taxis) to be issued to operate in areas outside Sydney during the year commencing 1 July 2018.
PDF 70.31KB
19 Jul 2017 Referral Referral - Taxi fares in Sydney
The Minister for Transport and Infrastructure has referred to IPART the task of making recommendations regarding the appropriate maximum fares for taxi services in Sydney that ply or stand for hire on a road (“rank and hail services”), to apply from July 2018.
PDF 69.51KB

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions