Water
Metro Pricing

Prices for Sydney Water Corporation from 1 July 2020

Status
In progress
Start Date
Jul 2019
End Date
Jun 2020
We are reviewing water prices for Sydney

IPART has received feedback on draft prices that Sydney Water can charge its customers from 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2024.

Submissions to our Draft Report closed on 27 April 2020.

Next steps

We will consider stakeholder submissions in response to our Draft Report, before releasing our Final Report and Determination in June 2020, for new prices to apply from 1 July 2020. 

Summary of our draft decisions 

We have released two summary papers for consultation:

  • Fact sheet of our draft water usage prices
  • Overview of our Draft Report on Sydney Water’s prices.

These explain key elements of our draft decisions, which are outlined and explained in full in our Draft Report. 

Customer bills to decrease for most residential customers

Use our bill calculator to estimate your bill under our draft prices.

A typical Sydney Water household would see their bill decrease, in average weather conditions, by about 12% a year from 1 July 2020.  

A typical household’s water bill would increase by 2% in drought conditions, compared to current prices.

Under our proposal to increase usage charges, but decrease fixed service charges, there would be a greater reward for Sydney Water’s customers who reduce their water consumption, particularly in drought.

More responsive water usage prices

Sydney 1.png
Getting value for everyone by holding Sydney Water to account

We considered how to encourage Sydney Water to continually improve its performance, deliver what its customers’ want, and publish better information to facilitate better planning and encourage competition to promote the long-term interests of customers.

Sydney 2.png

 

Media

For media enquiries, please contact Julie Sheather by email to media@ipart.nsw.gov.au or by phone on 0409 514 643.

Key Contact
Anthony Rush
Email
02 9113 7790
Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions