Water
Metro Pricing

Prices for Sydney Water Corporation from 1 July 2020

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Jul 2019
End Date
Jun 2020
Date Document type Description Documents
16 Jun 2020 Final Report Final report
This Report sets out our final decisions on the maximum prices that Sydney Water can charge for its water, wastewater and stormwater services, to apply from 1 July 2020. It presents prices and how these would affect customers, and explains how we reached our decisions.
PDF 6.47MB
16 Jun 2020 Determination Final determination
This is the legal instrument that would give effect to the decisions made in our Final Report. It outlines the maximum prices that Sydney Water can charge for its water, wastewater and stormwater services.
PDF 1.9MB
16 Jun 2020 Media Release Media release on final report
IPART has released its final report on maximum prices that Sydney Water can charge for its water, wastewater and stormwater services.
PDF 58.75KB
16 Jun 2020 Presentation Presentation slides for final reports
IPART’s presentation slides for the final report on Sydney Water prices.
PDF 828.58KB
16 Jun 2020 Bill Calculator
External Link 
16 Jun 2020 Consultant Report Supplementary consultant report by Atkins/Cardno
IPART engaged consultants, Atkins/Cardo, to review Sydney Water’s proposed expenditure for efficiency and its demand forecasts. This supplementary report presents its analysis and recommendations.
PDF 935.21KB
16 Jun 2020 Consultant Report Consultant report by The Centre for International Economics (CIE)
IPART engaged consultants, CIE, to conduct a peer review of the reasonableness of the approach and logic applied in making a decision on the expected inflation used in calculating the real WACC. This included review of the other regulatory options put forward by utilities on this matter.
PDF 251.49KB
24 Mar 2020 Executive Summary Overview
This Overview summarises our Draft Report relating to our review of the maximum prices that Sydney Water can charge for its water, wastewater, stormwater, and other services, to apply from 1 July 2020. It presents draft prices and the key draft decisions for our review.
PDF 1.32MB
24 Mar 2020 Draft Report Draft report
This Report sets out our draft decisions on the maximum prices that Sydney Water can charge for its water, wastewater, stormwater, and other services, to apply from 1 July 2020. It presents draft prices and how these would affect customers, and explains how we reached our decisions. We are seeking stakeholder feedback on these decisions.
Submissions to this report (30)
PDF 4.33MB
24 Mar 2020 Draft Determination Draft determination
This is a draft of the legal instrument that would give effect to the decisions made in our Draft Report. It outlines the maximum prices that Sydney Water can charge its customers for water, sewerage, stormwater and other services.
PDF 1.45MB
24 Mar 2020 Media Release Media release on draft report usage prices
IPART has released its draft reports on maximum prices that Sydney Water and Water NSW (in Greater Sydney) can charge their respective customers from 1 July 2020. We seek submissions from the public and other stakeholders by 27 April 2020 on our draft decisions for these two price reviews.
PDF 272.92KB
24 Mar 2020 Fact Sheet Fact sheet on draft report
This factsheet provides a summary of our draft decisions on the water usage prices for the Sydney Water review, to apply from 1 July 2020. It presents draft prices and the key draft decisions.
PDF 394.58KB
24 Mar 2020 Consultant Report Consultant report by Atkins / Cardno
IPART engaged consultants, Atkins/Cardno, to review Sydney Water’s proposed expenditure for efficiency and its demand forecasts. This report presents its analysis and recommendations.
PDF 6.99MB
24 Mar 2020 Consultant Report Addendum to consultant report by Atkins / Cardno
IPART engaged consultants, Atkins/Cardno, to review Sydney Water’s proposed drought expenditure following the significant rainfall events in February 2020. This addendum presents its updated analysis and recommendations.
PDF 530.08KB
24 Mar 2020 Consultant Report Consultant report by Gillespie Economics
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Gillespie Economics to review Sydney Water’s and Hunter Water’s customer willingness to pay surveys. This report presents its analysis and recommendations.
PDF 479.24KB
24 Mar 2020 Consultant Report Consultant report by Cardno
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Cardno to review Sydney Water’s Developer Direct services. This report presents its analysis and recommendations.
PDF 536.03KB
14 Nov 2019 Media Release Media Release on public hearing
IPART will be holding a joint public forum on Tuesday 26 November 2019 to seek community views about the prices proposed for Sydney Water’s water, sewerage and related services and WaterNSW’s bulk water services in Greater Sydney.
PDF 299.7KB
13 Nov 2019 Advertisement Advertisement on public hearing
Advertisement on public hearing. It was published in the Daily Telegraph, Sydney Morning Herald on 13 November 2019.
PDF 207.29KB
18 Sep 2019 Advertisement Advertisement on Issues paper
Advertisement on Issues Paper - Invitation for feedback. It was published in the Daily Telegraph, Sydney Morning Herald on 18 September 2019.
PDF 120.26KB
17 Sep 2019 Issues Paper Issues paper
This Issues Paper sets out key issues in our review of Sydney Water’s water, wastewater and stormwater prices to apply from 1 July 2020. It also summarises Sydney Water’s pricing proposal and provides context for our review.
Submissions to this report (24)
PDF 9.67MB
17 Sep 2019 Media Release Media release on Issues paper
IPART is seeking feedback and submissions from the public on the maximum prices that Sydney Water and WaterNSW can charge its customers from 1 July 2020. Submissions are due by 21 October 2019, and we will also hold a Public Hearing in Sydney on 26 November.
PDF 46.87KB
17 Sep 2019 Reference Document Customer feedback form in response to Sydney Water’s pricing proposal
We collected customer feedback on Sydney Water’s proposed prices as part of our consultation process. This document provides the questions we asked. We are no longer collecting feedback through this form. The feedback received is not published, but formal submissions that we received on our Issues Paper will be available to view shortly here.
PDF 1.79MB
17 Sep 2019 Reference Document Feedback received
Feedback received through the customer feedback form
PDF 115.36KB
17 Sep 2019 Summary of Issues Paper Overview
IPART is seeking feedback and submission from the community on Sydney Water’s proposed water, wastewater and stormwater prices from 1 July 2020. This Overview provides a summary of Sydney Water’s proposal, the key issues of the review and invites stakeholder feedback.
PDF 3.87MB
17 Sep 2019 Use our bill calculator to estimate your bill under Sydney Water's proposed prices
External Link 
1 Jul 2019 Sydney Water’s pricing proposal
External Link 
10 Dec 2015 Terms of Reference Terms of Reference
Terms of Reference
PDF 5.04MB

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions