Water
Rural Water

Prices for WaterNSW’s Rural Bulk Water Services from 1 July 2017 (formerly State Water Corporation)

Status
Review completed
Start Date
Jun 2016
Media Releases
Jun 2017
Date Document type Description Documents
13 Jun 2017 Media Releases
View Media Releases
13 Jun 2017 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet - overview
.
PDF 144.11KB
13 Jun 2017 Fact Sheets - by valley
View Fact Sheets - by valley
13 Jun 2017 Final Report Final Report
The Final Report sets out prices and decisions for our review of maximum prices that WaterNSW can charge for providing rural bulk water services from 1 July 2017.
PDF 3.21MB
13 Jun 2017 Determination Final Determination
The Determination is the legal instrument for our pricing decisions relating to the maximum prices that WaterNSW can charge for providing rural bulk water services from 1 July 2017.
PDF 699.71KB
13 Jun 2017 Consultant Report Consultant Supplementary Report by Aither – WaterNSW Expenditure Review
IPART re-engaged the consultancy firm Aither to review WaterNSW’s response to the draft decisions on proposed expenditure in the Draft Report, including decisions on capital expenditure, asset renewals and operating expenditure for rural bulk water services.
PDF 651.4KB
13 Jun 2017 Consultant Report Consultant Supplementary Report by Agripath - Capacity to pay submissions review
IPART re-engaged the consultancy firm Agripath to review and respond to stakeholders’ submissions on water users’ capacity to pay for WaterNSW’s rural bulk water services in the North Coast and South Coast valleys.
PDF 913.86KB
14 Mar 2017 Media Releases
View Media Releases
14 Mar 2017 Fact Sheets
View Fact Sheets
14 Mar 2017 Draft Report Draft Report
The Draft Report sets out draft prices and decisions for our review of maximum prices that WaterNSW can charge for providing rural bulk water services from 1 July 2017. We are seeking feedback from stakeholders on our Draft Report by 17 April 2017.
Submissions to this report (30)
PDF 2.66MB
14 Mar 2017 Draft Determination Draft Determination
The Draft Determination is the legal instrument for the draft pricing decisions relating to the maximum prices that WaterNSW can charge for providing rural bulk water services from 1 July 2017. We are seeking feedback on the Draft Determination from stakeholders by 17 April 2017.
PDF 482.21KB
14 Mar 2017 Consultant Report Consultant Report - Aither – Expenditure
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Aither to review WaterNSW’s capital expenditure, asset planning and operating expenditure proposals for rural bulk water services. Aither’s final report provides analysis and recommendations for our review of WaterNSW’s prices.
PDF 3.12MB
14 Mar 2017 Consultant Report Consultant Report - Aither – MDBA Expenditure
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Aither to review the cost sharing, expenditure and management arrangements with the Murray-Darling Basin Authority (MDBA). Aither’s final report provides analysis and recommendations for our review of WaterNSW’s prices.
PDF 1.35MB
14 Mar 2017 Consultant Report Consultant Report - Frontier – Cost shares
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Frontier Economics to review the current approach to allocating WaterNSW’s revenue requirements (costs) between customers and the NSW government. Frontier Economics’ final report recommends a cost sharing framework that provides a clear and transparent process for allocating costs between customers and the NSW Government for each of WaterNSW’s services.
PDF 1.67MB
14 Mar 2017 Consultant Report Consultant Report - Agripath – Capacity to pay
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Agripath to estimate water users’ capacity to pay in the North Coast and South Coast valleys for WaterNSW’s rural bulk water services. Agripath’s final report provides analysis for our review of WaterNSW’s prices in valleys substantially below full cost recovery.
PDF 1.01MB
14 Mar 2017 Consultant Report Consultant Report - Aither – Cost recovery
IPART engaged the consultancy firm Aither to review options and establish key principles for setting prices for WaterNSW’s rural bulk water services in valleys substantially below full cost recovery.. Aither’s final report provides analysis and recommendations for our review of WaterNSW’s prices in valleys substantially below full cost recovery.
PDF 1.27MB
13 Sep 2016 Media Release Media Release on Issues Paper
IPART has started its review of the prices that WaterNSW can charge for providing rural bulk water services from 1 July 2017.
PDF 37.01KB
13 Sep 2016 Fact Sheets
View
13 Sep 2016 Issues Paper Issues Paper
This Issues Paper sets out key issues for our review of the maximum prices that WaterNSW can charge for providing rural bulk water services.
Submissions to this report (29)
PDF 1.35MB
14 Jul 2014 Media Release Media Release - Review Deferral
The current prices charged by the NSW Office of Water (NOW) across NSW, and State
Water Corporation outside of the Murray-Darling Basin, will remain in place until at least
June 2016.
HTML of Media Release - Review Deferral
Jun 2013 Fact Sheet Fact Sheet - Prices for Coastal Valleys and some Fish River customers
IPART will continue to regulate prices for State Water’s monopoly services in the 3 coastal valleys (North Coast, Hunter and South Coast) and for some customers of the Fish River Scheme (Lithgow and Oberon Councils and the Sydney Catchment Authority). In mid 2014, we will commence our review of the State Water prices that we will continue to regulate. This Fact Sheet provides information on our review.
PDF 93.56KB
24 May 2013 Letter Letter from IPART to State Water - Review Deferral
Pricing regulation of State Water’s monopoly services in the Murray-Darling Basin valleys will transfer to the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) from 1 July 2014.
We have deferred our review of State Water’s prices for coastal valleys and some customers of the Fish River Scheme, until 2014/15. We intend to use information from the ACCC’s 2014 review and thereby minimise regulatory costs. For coastal valley and relevant Fish River customers, prices will remain unchanged until 1 July 2015 or until we make a new determination.
PDF 530.03KB

Accessible documents are available on request. Email IPART.

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions