Water
Metro Pricing

Prices for Hunter Water Corporation from 1 July 2020

Status
Consultation
Start Date
Jul 2019
End Date
Jun 2020
6
Days left for submissions
Deadline: 21 Oct 2019
Have your say
Have your say

We are currently reviewing the prices Hunter Water can charge its customers for water, wastewater and stormwater services from 1 July 2020.  We received Hunter Water’s Pricing Proposal on 1 July 2019.  This is available through the link above, and we highlight key points below.

Hunter Water is proposing higher prices over the next 5 years (2020-21 to 2024-25) as its proposed total costs per year average $376 million, which is 17% higher than the average annual costs we used to set current prices (adjusted for inflation).  Under its proposal, customer bills would increase by around 24% over the next 5 years for typical customers in houses, and 34% for typical customers in apartments. The proposed expenditure is, broadly, to maintain compliance with regulatory standards, address deteriorating assets, upgrade digital technology, and meet population growth.

We will aim to set prices so that Hunter Water recovers enough revenue to allow it to efficiently supply reliable and sustainable services.  To ensure that its proposed expenditure is worthwhile and affordable, we will analyse Hunter Water’s proposal in detail over the next nine months and consult with the community on what Hunter Water’s prices should be. 

You can let us know your views on Hunter Water’s proposal below, or by making a submission here, or attend our public hearing in Newcastle on 19 November 2019.  We will accept feedback through this website until 21 October 2019.  We have also published an Overview of key issues in our review of Hunter Water’s proposal, along with a detailed Issues Paper which includes a full list of questions for stakeholders.

Click here to view form.

Next Steps

You can provide a formal submission to our Issues Paper by clicking here.  Submissions will be accepted until 21 October 2019.

You will have a further opportunity to present your views at our public hearing in Newcastle on 19 November 2019.  Please register here if you would like to attend.

We will release our Draft Report in March 2020, which will outline our draft decisions.   We will then consider stakeholder submissions in response to the Draft Report, before releasing our Final Report and Determination in June 2020, for new prices to apply from 1 July 2020. 

Media Contact

For media enquiries, please contact Julie Sheather by email to media@ipart.nsw.gov.au or by phone on 0409 514 643.

Key Contact
John Madden
Email
02 9113 7780

Related reviews

Have Your Say
IPART routinely seeks public input into our reviews via submissions, public hearings, stakeholder workshops and community surveys.
View all reviews open for submissions