Central Coast
water drops
Summary

IPART is reviewing the maximum prices that Central Coast Council can charge for its water, wastewater, stormwater and other water-related services.

The council submitted its pricing proposal on 10 September 2021, and IPART released its Issues Paper on 28 September 2021.

IPART will assess whether the price changes proposed by the council represent good value for money for customers and are affordable.

The council has proposed prices that would increase typical household bills by about 34% in the first year, and then by inflation after that.

The council’s submission says the proposed price increases will ensure it can provide water services that meet its customers’ expectations now and into the future. This includes good quality drinking water, and reliable water supply, wastewater, stormwater and other water services.

IPART has released an Information Paper about stormwater drainage on which IPART is seeking comment from through a new online survey.

IPART will undertake its usual comprehensive, transparent and consultative water price review process to consider all relevant information and make an independent, fair decision about the new prices that will apply from 1 July 2022.

Further information about our review process for the Central Coast Council water price review can be found here.

If you would like to stay up-to-date on this review, please email us at CCC_Water@ipart.nsw.gov.au to be added to our email list.

Having your say

During our review, there will be several opportunities for you to have your say on the council’s prices.

We recently sought feedback on the council’s pricing proposal and our Issues Paper, and held our first online public hearing for the review on 26 October 2021. We encouraged customers and the community to make submissions to the review and to complete our Have Your Say survey by 1 November 2021. Submissions to the review and the survey have closed and will be made public as soon as possible.

We are currently seeking feedback on our Information Paper on stormwater drainage by 15 November 2021.

IPART will consider all comments made through submissions, survey responses, and at the public hearing before releasing a Draft Report seeking further community feedback in early March 2022.

There will also be further opportunity to present your views in response to our Draft Report and at our second public hearing which we plan to hold in April 2022.

Key contact
Scott Chapman
02 9290 8449